@skopemag news – monday – january 27, 2020 @ 11:30 am est

@skopemag APP – Apple iTunes –
@skopemag APP – Google / Android –


“Safety 2020” follows the release of GASHI’s self-titled debut album last fall. The album includes the original version of “Safety” which has been streamed and viewed over 25 million times. The song instantly became the #1 most added song globally on Spotify (in 38 countries) upon release.

Melody Federer and Burch Bacharach release new song “Bridges”

“Melody wrote a poem that turned out to be “Bridges” and recited it for me. I took it word for word and put it to music. It really magically came together with little changes from the original poem. I loved it, and I set it. It’s the way I like to write, to a guidemark that creates a form within itself, how the words form. Not a word that had to be changed, and it is a gift to get something structured like that. When lyrics can seamlessly break into song, almost in the same “language,” the same believability.” – Burt Bacharach

The Gloomies share new single, “Sideways,” via Atwood Magazine & announce new LP

Atwood described the song as “A hazy and fuzzy reflection on feeling lost in your own life” and that “The song captures the depth of intense, muted emotions surrounding this notion of aimlessness, which can so often be as anxiety-provoking as its lyrics suggest.” ARE WE GETTING BETTER? is due out on March 6th, 2020.

Alok & Dynoro unveil video game-like visuals for ‘On & On’

Directed by Sarah Knüpfer, the surreal, video game-like visuals feature “choose your player” sequences with a male and female character dueling in a style reminiscent of classic games such as Streetfighter, Tekken and Mortal Kombat. A perfect visual accompaniment for the track’s scintillating vocal and driving bassline, the video toggles between action, passion, and humour throughout. Originally released in late November, ‘On & On’ has since racked up 17.6 million hits on Spotify alone.

Marie Miller Announce New Album Releasing On 3/27

Singer, songwriter, and mandolinist Marie Miller announced her sophomore album Little Dreams will release on March 27th. Today she unveiled her new video for the single/title track “Little Dreams.” It debuted on Billboard who stated “‘Little Dreams’ highlights Miller’s uncertainty of the future with a hopeful message alongside delicate acoustic guitar and a steady drumbeat.”

Pet Shop Boys new album ‘Hotspot’ out

“We’ve written much of our music over the last ten years in Berlin and it was an exciting experience to work on this album in the legendary Hansa studios there and add a new dimension to our sound,” Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe say of the album.

Hotspot was primarily written and recorded in Berlin and Los Angeles. The album is produced and mixed by Stuart Price, marking the third Pet Shop Boys album he has produced following Super (2016) and Electric (2013).

Bear Grillz Welcomes The New Year With Punchy Single “Smile Without U”

Bear Grillz projects confidence and empowerment on “Smile Without U,” his punchy future bass single featuring vocals from Nevve.

“Smile Without U” inaugurates the new year as the latest tease from Bear Grillz’s forthcoming EP, due to drop on Dim Mak this Spring. It joins recent singles “Nightmare (feat. rx Soul)” and “The Way We Were (feat. HALIENE),” offering a taste of his latest concoction, which promises to be some of the producer’s strongest work to date.

Nicole Oberle’s “Skin” is out Today

Nicole Oberle is a prolific and enigmatic artist whose work in the fields of textural ambient music and lo-fi beat-oriented work unfolds to reveal layers of emotional transparency and honesty. Skin – Oberle’s first release for Whited Sepulchre Records – comes in as a wash of blackened drone, everything riding just a bit above the red, creating an overladen and disorienting rush. Even when Oberle opens up to incorporate birch-bare guitar lines, forlorn piano chords, disembodied vocal drones, fragments of poems and crushing beats, everything is saturated with a palpable sense of foreboding. There is a measurable heaviness imbuing every motion creating this record.

Lucifer Releases First Single “Ghosts”

“It is with great pleasure and pride that we can finally offer you a first glimpse of our new album Lucifer III. ‘Ghosts’ is the opening track and also the first one we wrote for our third long player. Some of you might recognize it if you caught Lucifer live in the past year or so. So here it is. We hope you dig and remember to play it loud. Always,” states the band about the release.

Fire In The Radio announce new album and share ‘Let’s Get To The Start’

­There are occasions where a band reaches beyond its humble beginnings and insular scene and creates a cohesive set of memorable songs that wield the potential to make a more seismic and lasting impression. Enter Monuments, the third studio album from Philadelphia’s Fire in the Radio. Engineered and produced by Jesse Gander (Japandroids, White Lung), the album is the successor to the band’s 2017 critically acclaimed New Air LP, and is their most immediate, engaging, and confident record to date.


The project revs up with ten bold bangers gassed by his gruff rhymes, gritty hooks, and unbreakable spirit. The opener “Money On My Head Part 2” cycles between vicious verses and an ominous chant threaded together by FredRarrii’s wild wordplay. Elsewhere, he joins forces with multiplatinum superstar Da Baby for the sticky and slick “Wet Shit,” culminating on a catchy chorus. Bigga Rankin pulls up on the title track and conclusion with a fitting final word from FredRarrii as well.