@skopemag news – monday – may 17, 2021 @ 7 pm est

@skopemag HQ – http://smarturl.it/skope

Release Day: NYC Queer Art-Pop Artist Prince Johnny releases cathartic debut EP “Stupid Sex”

Stupid Sex is an introspective & unflinching exploration of self-loathing, shame, hyper-sexualization, solitude, and the modern queer experience as a sensitive soul in the shadow of the AIDS crisis. Prince Johnny melts down and fuses genres within their songs, traversing stark piano ballads to eerie cabaret-rock to electro-pop nuclear meltdowns, all grounded by deft and evocative lyricism. A master of juxtaposition, Prince Johnny knows how to find the humor in the tragedy and the calm in a strange land – especially when that strange land is your own body

Premiere: A Forlorn, Nursery Rhyme of Self-Loathing with Prince Johnny’s “Sex Party”

Guided By Voices Announce Fall Tour Via Rolling Stone

The 33rd Guided By Voices album, Earth Man Blues, is a magical cinematic rock album, full of dramatic and surreal twists and turns. Lyrics and liner notes trace the growth of young Harold Admore Harold through a coming of age and a reckoning with darkness. Vivid scenes appear: snapshots of youth, fantastical nightmares, unknown worlds.

Guided By Voices Announces 2021 Tour


Following a series of searing, club-adjacent recent singles, East London’s Millie Turner releases her debut mini album titled ‘Eye of the Storm’ which includes her brand new single “Pull Me Under” along with a rework of breakthrough track Underwater

Artist: TYO – Track: Diversity: AM

The nostalgic and warm feeling fills the room, when Anouk turns on the radio to finally listen to TYO. He is telling a dreamy story of a past romance, that slowly unveils the ugly truth. Something changed *insert dramatic explosion effects

The souly funky chords accompanied by TYO’s voice only, switches to his alter ego TZUKI, the man with the many voices. Punching through with the heavy bass and sinister sound TZUKI takes over the show.

Dashboard Confessional Announces Fall U.S. Unplugged Tour

Dashboard Confessional today announced a U.S. Unplugged Tour this fall, their first since cancelling the remainder of last year’s sold-out, DC20 20th anniversary celebration tour around the release of their first-ever career-spanning compilation, The Best Ones Of The Best Ones. Beginning September 8th in New Orleans, LA, and ending November 5th at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, TN—a makeup show of the DC20 grand finale—the tour will feature singer/guitarist Chris Carrabba alongside a stripped-down backing band that includes Dashboard’s longtime guitarist Armon Jay, with Abby Kelly and Dane Poppin (fans will recognize the lineup from Dashboard’s ‘Lonely Hearts & Lovers’ Valentine’s Day stream). Before hitting the road for the 8-week run, Dashboard Confessional’s full band line-up (Carrabba, Jay, Scott Schoenbeck, and Chris Kamrada) will perform at both the Alaska State Fair and the Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival.

Gender Euphoria, Queer Love, and DOOM! Check Out Reversels Latest Video, “Gravitron”

Asheville, N.C. based queer doom pop band, Reversels are set to release their upcoming album, LaSabre is out on July 23rd, 2021 and it’s a doozy! Exploring themes of self love, gender euphoria, and body positivity, Reversels is the band we need now! LaSabre is a little bit goth, a little industrial, a nice bit of doom, and perfectly subversive.

SkiiTour Releases New Single “Lose Our Heads” Ft. SHELLS via Box Of Cats – Out Now

Hailing from the world famous ski town of Whistler, Canadian production / DJ duo SkiiTour are making their official 2021 debut with new single “Lose Our Heads.” An obvious match for House Music driven label Box Of Cats, “Lose Our Heads” features English singer-songwriter SHELLS, a vocalist known for her work with MEDUZA, Drumtap, and as tour opener for Charlie Puth.

Grande Fox – single “Rottenness of Youth” from album “Empty nest”

Grande Fox on February 19, 2021 presented the “Empty nest”. It is the second full-length album and fourth release for the four-member Space Psychedelic Stoner Heavy Rock band from Thessaloniki.

Alt-Rockers Foolproof Release New Single/Music Video “The Wake”

Hailing from all parts of Niagara, Ontario, Foolproof is a three-piece grunge-rock band founded by lead vocalist and guitarist, Paige Kopp. Since then, the band has been writing new material and playing live shows with acts such as The Forgotten Rebels, The Mahones, Moneen, The Dirty Nil, The Creepshow, and more.

Lele Pons Releases New Single & Music Video “Al Lau” – Out Now

The track highlights her dynamic vocals over a glossy groove and bouncy beat highlighted by acoustic guitar. She delivers the verses with confidence before launching into a simmering and sexy chorus. The music video tells two parallel stories. Lele gets ready for a night out with her girls as the visual also follows a male protagonist as he does the same. Their paths cross at a bar before the clip takes a surprising turn.

Griffin Jennings Shares “Ceremony” via Psychedelic Baby Magazine

“Ceremony” is an emotionally charged alt-rock anthem about a relationship falling apart. Combining classic early 2000’s garage rock guitar solos with heavy-hitting drums and keys, “Ceremony” is the alt-rock centerpiece off Griffin’s upcoming album. Higher energy and catchy, the track still has the gritty lo-fi feel of his past work such as “Long Forgotten Road,” his lead single that was lauded last month by Under the Radar.