@skopemag news – thursday – january 30, 2020

@skopemag APP – Apple iTunes –
@skopemag APP – Google / Android –

Congolese Canadian singer x songwriter LADÉ set to release sultry debut single ‘Teaser’

Perhaps perfectly timed for a Valentine’s Day release, ‘Teaser’ is an infectious and undeniably smooth R&B masterstroke, led by an enchanting and sultry vocal performance from LaDé, as well as her sensual harmonies, and captivating songwriting dexterities.

Thematically though, it just might make for the perfect anti-lovers anthem, with LaDeé explaining that “the song is about the desire to become a better version of yourself after experiencing a rather toxic relationship, and then showing off that better version to the infamous ex”.


The 1990 romantic comedy Pretty Woman is notable for its stars, Julia Roberts and Richard Gere, and of course, the theme song that inspired it, Roy Orbison’s Number One hit “Oh, Pretty Woman.” Yet there’s another song closely associated with the film – the adult contemporary smash “Fallen” by Lauren Wood.

That song is the centerpiece of The Warner Bros. Years, a 19-song retrospective that combines Wood’s self-titled 1979 album (featuring her soulful hit duet with Yacht Rock icon Michael McDonald), with Cat Trick, her 1981 follow-up that included “Fallen.” The Warner Bros. Years, due Feb. 14 from Los Angeles, CA based Blixa Sounds, marks the first time these albums have been released on CD in the U.S. For this release, the recordings have been digitally remastered from the original tapes and packaged with a 16-page booklet, including archival photos as well as lyrics.

Shopping share new single/video “For Your Pleasure”

Shopping releases a new single/video, “For Your Pleasure,” from All Or Nothing, their new album out 7th February via FatCat Records. The songs that make up All or Nothing are the band’s boldest yet; confident, elastic, streamlined grooves that crackle with energy and intention. Along with cleaner, new production values, ‘80s synths and electronic percussion add new textures to their signature minimalist dynamic. Following the “bright and jangly” (Stereogum) lead single “Initiative,” ”For Your Pleasure” is frenetic and propulsive. The accompanying video was directed by Lessa Millet and features several notable musicians, including Sam Sparro and members of Ought, French Vanilla, Janelane and Mo Dotti.

Rock Band, Daughtry, Returns To Mohegan Sun Arena

Mohegan Sun Arena welcomes back Rock band, Daughtry, on Thursday, September 3rd at 8:00pm.

Tickets are $45.00 and $35.00 and go on sale Friday, January 31st at 10:00am through Ticketmaster. Ticketmaster customers may log on to ticketmaster.com. Tickets will also be available at the Mohegan Sun Box Office beginning Saturday, February 1st at 10:00am, subject to availability.

“It takes a lot of time to accept who you are,” says Chris Daughtry. “You shave off the persona that you thought people expected, stop worrying about what anyone is going to think. You start to be comfortable with who you are onstage and off, and that all blends together. I think I finally know who I am as a person.”

Mohegan Sun Arena Welcomes Back Daughtry

Margaret Glaspy Announces New Album “Devotion,” Out March 27

Brooklyn singer-songwriter Margaret Glaspy is returning with her highly anticipated new album Devotion, due out March 27 on ATO Records. Devotion is Glaspy’s first full-length since her acclaimed debut 2016 Emotions and Math and marks an entirely new sonic chapter for her. Glaspy has built a reputation as a skilled guitarist, and Emotions and Math was notable for its swaggering electric guitar sounds; on Devotion she shifted gears and built songs with completely different instrumentation as their base. The results – co-produced with Los Angeles’ Tyler Chester – are rich, sweeping, and melodic, a fittingly enchanting sound for a collection of 12 love songs. “It’s about letting love in even when you don’t know what will happen when you do,” says Glaspy. “It’s about devoting your heart to someone or something, against all odds.”

Firefly Music Festival Announces 2020 Lineup

Firefly Music Festival, the east coast’s largest music and camping festival, taking place June 18 – 21, today announced the full lineup. The 2020 lineup includes Rage Against the Machine, Billie Eilish, Halsey, Khalid, Blink 182, Maggie Rogers, Cage the Elephant, Illenium, Run the Jewels and more performing across six stages. Eilish made history at the 62nd annual Grammy Awards by becoming the first woman to take home the four biggest awards: record, album, song and best new artist. She also won best pop vocal album. Cage the Elephant took home an award at the 62nd annual Grammy Awards with best rock album.


Critical praise for Brandon Banks:

“…a major leap in craft and style, it becomes a superpower.” – 8.4 Rating/Best New Music – Pitchfork

“…superb major label debut …a sprawling autobiography overflowing with dense, unflinching, granular detail…” – Rolling Stone

“Kream has long been a skilled rhymer, but Brandon Banks brings him to a new level as a hip-hop figure to fight for.” – Billboard

“…one of the best rap albums of the year…” – Noisey

Dune Rats Release “Stupid Is As Stupid Does (feat. K.Flay)” Video

“With Dune Rats, every day is worth blowing off work for. The Australian pop-punk trio’s sound presents a level of high-functioning mischief that’s so full of color and momentum that one can’t be angry at it even as it spraypaints a dick on their house. At the same time, there’s a sense of real freedom and emotion to the band’s new record Hurry Up And Wait that makes it a few ticks more philosophical than your usual party anthem record.” – Kerrang!