@skopemag news – wednesday – january 15, 2020 @ 11:45 am est

@skopemag APP – Apple iTunes –
@skopemag APP – Google / Android –

Alice Boman Shares “Everybody Hurts” Video

Sweden’s Alice Boman today shared a video for “Everybody Hurts” ahead of this Friday’s release of her long-awaited debut album Dream On ([PIAS]). Boman says, “This song is about being rejected and turned down and how that can make you question yourself and your worth, regardless of the circumstances. Especially when it happens again and again. I guess rejection is one of the things we all fear the most. But I also wanted this song to feel a bit encouraging despite the theme. A reminder to not take it too personally. All of us get hurt. And it’s ok. You’re ok.” Of the accompanying Julia Ringdahl-directed clip, she adds “I love the work of weaver Nanny Rådenman and I will bring some of her fabrics with me on tour – to use on stage as a backdrop. We got the idea to use some of her weaves in this video as well – to tie things together. To create something special.”

Scott Hardware returns with emboldening new single ‘Joy’

On April 3, 2020, Toronto’s Scott Hardware will be releasing Engel, his second full-length album, and first on Telephone Explosion Records. It will mark the end of a three-year process of writing, recording and letting down his guard (for better or worse.)

BLACK SWAN Release New Song “Black Disaster”

Vocalist Robin McAuley (McAuley Schenker Group), guitarist Reb Beach (Winger, Whitesnake), bassist Jeff Pilson (Foreigner, The End Machine, ex-Dokken), and drummer Matt Starr (Ace Frehley, Mr. Big) have joined forces in BLACK SWAN, a new band project signed to Frontiers Music Srl. Today the band unleashes the second track from the album entitled “Black Disaster.”

Andy Shauf releases new single “Living Room”

Next Friday, January 24th via ANTI-, Andy Shauf will release The Neon Skyline, “a remarkably evolved variety of break-up album, one whose match of melodicism and bruised romanticism makes it somehow suggestive of Lou Reed’s Berlin as re-written by Paul Simon” (Uncut).

PORNOHELMUT: Cvlt Nation Premieres “Astroglide” Video

As Texas audiovisual guerrilla PORNOHELMUT prepares to unload his pummeling Bang Lord debut full-length in the coming weeks, the record’s first single and lead track has been issued. The slamming sounds of “Astroglide” can now be experienced through a perplexing video for the song, which has been premiered today through Cvlt Nation.

Experience the explosive extreme experimental visual from PORNOHELMUT “ASTROGLIDE”

Billie Eilish Announced For NO TIME TO DIE Title Song

EON Productions, Metro Goldwyn Mayer Studios (MGM), and Universal Pictures International today announced that Billie Eilish will sing the theme song for the 25th James Bond film, No Time To Die. The song will be released on Darkroom/Interscope Records. No Time To Die is in theatres globally from 2 April 2020 in the U.K. through Universal Pictures International and in the U.S on April 10, from MGM via their United Artists Releasing banner.

The 18-year-old multi-platinum selling and GRAMMY® Award nominated Billie Eilish has written the title song with her elder brother; fellow multi GRAMMY® Award nominated FINNEAS. Billie Eilish is the youngest artist in history to write and record a James Bond theme song.

Belgian Heavy Sludge/Post-Hardcore Doomsters LETHVM shared music video “Ananké”

As announced a few weeks ago and about two years after the release of their debut full-length record ‘This Fall Shall Cease’, doom/post-hardcore/sludge mammoths LETHVM just released their new album called ‘Acedia’ and out now for LP, tape & Digital through Dunk!records, Denses Record & I For Us Records.

MEDICO PESTE Reveal New Album Details

Polish black metal formation MEDICO PESTE will be releasing ‘ב :The Black Bile’ on March 20 via Season of Mist Underground Activists, making it the band’s debut to the label! The album artwork, tracklist, and details can be found below. In conjunction with the album announcement, the band have shared the first single, “God Knows Why,” along with an official music video.

Stroke 9 returns with new album on January 17th

California-based rock stalwarts Stroke 9 are set to release their new album, Calafrio, on January 17, 2020. Written, produced, and released exclusively by the band (Luke Esterkyn [vocals, guitar], Greg Gueldner [drums], John McDermott [guitar], Jens Funke [bass]), it was recorded in studios, hotel rooms, and backyards up and down the coast during the spring of 2019. Driven by acoustic guitars and electric piano, filled rich harmonies, and infused with seasoned pop sensibility, the record captures the sound of West Coast rock and roll.


Today, multiplatinum rapper Rich The Kid releases his new video for “That’s Tuff” feat. Quavo. In the hilarious video, Rich The Kid and Quavo team up to take over a gym while pumping iron, living up to the title of the track.

Watch The Homesick’s “Male Bonding”

The Homesick take on the patriarchy in this trippy new video for “Male Bonding,” a standout from The Big Exercise, the group’s label debut, released worldwide February 7th, 2020. The visual was directed by Karlos Rene Ayala (Low’s “Poor Sucker,” “Dancing and Blood”; Chelsea Wolfe’s “American Darkness”).

Foxfeather Release New Single and Video for “The Rules”

Using their voice to embolden the feminine and rejoice in the frailty and power of their own womanhood, the songwriting duo of Carly Ricks Smith and Laura Stratton, together as Foxfeather, take pride in advocating for women in music, giving their hearts to motivate and empower through song. As the first single from Foxfeather’s upcoming 2020 release, “The Rules” is a powerful anthem to ring in the new decade. Ricks Smith explains, “In ‘The Rules,’ we delve into the reality of the challenges faced by women as they face a world seemingly built to oppress and manipulate. It also serves to exalt the undeniable power of the feminine energy and to brandish that strength as a weapon against a society that will not accept their independence and autonomy. It serves less as a threat and more as a reckoning.”

The Disco Biscuits Announce Act 1 2020 Tour

Electronic pioneers The Disco Biscuits have just announced their “Act 1 2020 Tour”. Tickets go on sale Friday at 10AM local time. In the meantime, fans can enter the “fanclub presale lottery”, which runs from now-Wednesday until 5PM ET.

Disco Biscuits Announce Act 1 2020 Tour