@skopemag news – weekend – january 11 – 12, 2020 @ 7 am est

@skopemag APP – Apple iTunes –
@skopemag APP – Google / Android –

LISTEN: Callum Beattie Shares Gripping Acoustic Version Of ‘Some Heroes Don’t Wear Capes’ – Out Today.

Scottish singer-songwriter, Callum Beattie kick-starts the new year with the sublime acoustic version of his incredibly emotive single ‘Some Heroes Don’t Wear Capes’ – out today via 3Beat. Beattie will be releasing his highly anticipated debut album ‘People Like Us’ on 15th May 2020 – available to pre-order now. Catch Callum live headlining shows in the UK and Germany in March and April.


Alongside the original fan-favourite, the EP consists of acoustic and orchestral re-workings as well as remixes by Italian production trio MEDUZA who saw chart success last year with their platinum selling single ‘Piece Of Your Heart’ and a previously released low-rumbling house reworking by up-and-coming DJ Ten Ven.

Jauz releases new track ‘Bring Em Back’ Feat. TYNAN

Kicking off the new year with a bang, revered producer and DJ Jauz links up with TYNAN for a new bass-house heater ‘Bring Em Back’ now via Bite This! ‘Bring Em Back’ will be the second single released from the Dangerous Waters EP, set to debut on Friday, January 17th just ahead of the US tour.

Dream-pop duo teepee transport you to a ‘Parallel World’ within

Dream-pop duo teepee release their latest single ‘Parallel World’ to be lifted from their upcoming album Where the Ocean Breaks, slated to drop on 31 January 2020 via Springstoff. The album was recorded at the Aurora Studios in Vienna together with producer Tom O. Marsh. Their previous single ‘No Reason’ was released to acclaim, and quickly went on to feature on popular Youtube channel Mr Suicide Sheep, racking up over 229 thousand views to date, before being added to Spotify’s Indie Radar Playlist. The Prague-based duo has racked up over 200 thousand Spotify streams, seen support from Son Of Marketing, were nominated by Radio Wave’s export initiative Czeching and have shared the stage with names like Jesse Ware, Seafret, Oh Wonder, Peter Bjorn and John or Laurel. teepee have played numerous shows in the United Kingdom, Austria, Germany, Slovakia and Poland including Enea Spring Break, Waves Vienna, Nouvelle Prague, Rock For People, Sázavafest, Colors of Ostrava and Reeperbahn Festival and are looking forward to their performance at ESNS next week.


Following the summer release of their sublime sophomore album ‘Life After’, a sold-out November UK & European tour and the announcement of their first ever North American tour, London band Palace today release ‘The Hoxa Sessions’ EP, a collection of stripped-back acoustic performances recorded at London’s Hoxa Studios following the completion of ‘Life After’. The EP includes new versions of 3 ‘Life After’ tracks as well as brand new track ‘Trouble On The Water’, premiering today.

SOFI TUKKER share new version of ‘Swing’ feat. Australian rapper Allday

SOFI TUKKER are kicking off 2020 by sharing a new version of their single “Swing” from their Dancing On the People EP which features Australian rapper Allday. The MC, who has had a string of three top ten albums in his native Australia, brings an escalating flow on the verge of combusting over the song’s dramatic strings and ominous chant adapted from Brazilian poet Chacal.

SOFI TUKKER team up with Allday for release of new single “Swing”

Team Me Present Honest And Vulnerable Insight On ‘INTO THE WILD’

Taking a stripped back approach incorporating more natural instrumentation, the track is a refreshing reminder of the 8-piece’s capacity and versatility to write indie bangers in all degrees. Frontman Marius Drogsås Hagen tells of the subject of the track “sometimes you get the urge to disappear and leave behind the ones you love in order to find peace with yourself”, and for Marius it’s about following the need to escape into the wild in order to return to society recharged, and able to appreciate and embrace his relationships.

HOSH drops scintillating new single ‘Midnight (The Hanging Tree)’ Feat. Jalja

German DJ, producer and label owner HOSH teams up with Italian newcomer 1979 on his new single ‘Midnight (The Hanging Tree)’ Feat Jalja, which sees its commercial release on Friday 10th January via Three Six Zero Recordings.

A scintillating slice of melodic house, with vocals by London based singer Jalja, ‘Midnight (The Hanging Tree)’ Feat. Jalja sees HOSH and 1979 craft a sparse, emotive soundscape that lingers long in the memory. The stunning official video sees Tim Burton-reminiscent animation that acts as a perfect visual representation of the track’s eerie yet emotive vibe.

WISHBONE ASH Release Video For “We Stand as One”

British rock heroes Wishbone Ash releases a new single and video today. The song “We Stand As One” is taken from the forthcoming studio album “Coat Of Arms”.

Guitarist/vocalist Andy Powell proudly describes the song as a “real heavy rock anthem featuring wonderful guitars, in the true spirit of Wishbone Ash classics such as ‘The Warrior’.”


‘WE ARE RIGHT’, the new video and single from Italian hard rock/modern metal band GAME ZERO, can be seen below. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming second album, ‘W.A.R. – WE ARE RIGHT’, due on February 28th, 2020 via ART GATES RECORDS.

Never The Brave drop powerful debut EP ‘Honest’

London-based two-piece Never The Brave have unveiled their debut EP ‘Honest’, out now via FutureKind / OUTCRY.

The five-track release opens with title track ‘Honest’, a fluttering, straight-talking soliloquy, followed by the duo’s debut single ‘Darkness Here’, a soaring, indie-tinged ballad that immediately illustrates their polished musical talents. Next up is their second single ‘Painkillers’, a sombre, hard-hitting single that tackles themes of depression and losing a loved one. Things are closed out by two heart-on-sleeve anthems in the form of ‘Love You Anyway’ and ‘Kill For’.


In the past year, Dorian has gained a rapidly growing global fanbase with their debut album recognised in prestigious end of year round-ups from PAPER, VICE, The Guardian, Dazed, Needle Drop and more. 2019 saw Dorian Electra sell-out headline show at London’s Village Underground and their singles Career Boy, Man To Man and Flamboyant hit 1 Million streams on Spotify with the music video for their title track hitting 1 Million views on Youtube. The debut release is an experimental pop album co-written by Dorian Electra alongside the likes of Bonnie Mckee (Carly Rae Jepsen, Christina Aguilera) and produced by a variety of collaborators including Dylan Brady (100 Gecs). The album takes on the ideals of masculinity by shaping and breaking stereotypes – as seen in ‘Man To Man’ where Dorian takes on toxic masculinity whilst ‘Career Boy’ comments on the fetishization of work in our modern capitalist society.


Today, Dua Lipa reveals the live video and 6 track remix EP for her latest single “Don’t Start Now.” Directed by Daniel Carberry (Justin Bieber, Bruno Mars, Deadmau5), the video sees Dua perform a divine slice of pulsing roller disco with a live 19 piece band.