Weekend Edition – @skopemag news for march 10, 2019 @ noon est

SPIRIT ADRIFT To Release Divided By Darkness LP Through 20 Buck Spin On May 10th; Official Video For “Hear Her” Posted

Phoenix, Arizona-based SPIRIT ADRIFT will release their third full-length release, Divided By Darkness, through 20 Buck Spin on May 10th. The band has unveiled the LP’s first single, released through an official video for “Hear Her,” which is now also streaming on all digital platforms.

WILD To Tour With The National Parks; Share New Track  

Following the release of their debut EP, Lace & Layers, this past fall, LA’s infectious indie-folk-pop trio WILD share their energetic new track, “It Only Gets Better.” Ones To Watch, premiered the song and called it, “a radiant reminder that good things are always ahead, even when you think you’re at your lowest point.” The track was co-written with Zac Barnett of American Authors and when asked about the meaning behind it, WILD said, “It only gets better is knowing that even when you feel like everything is hopeless, it only gets better. So if you’re feeling stuck or lost or just don’t know what you’re feeling, know that you’re not alone.”

88Glam & Lil Yachty team up on “Lil Boat”

Toronto duo 88Glam teams up with Lil Yachty for the rendition of their song “Lil Boat”. The original track is from their latest project ’88Glam2′ (XO Records / Republic Records) and has clocked in over 15 million plays online and climbing the national radio charts. The duo are nominated for the Juno’s ‘Breakthrough Group of the Year’ award and they recently sat down for an interview with Beats 1 radio’s ‘Hip Hop Chart’, which is below.

88Glam & Lil Yachty Team Up On “Lil Boat”

Angel Haze and Dorothy Release Powerful Anthem to Ignite the #FreedomMeans Movement on International Women’s Day

To mark International Women’s Day, Dorothy and Angel Haze released a powerful anthem alongside We Are Hear (co-founded by multi-platinum producers Linda Perry & Kerry Brown), and Equality Now. This collaboration kicks-off the #FreedomMeans campaign, which calls on people to share their definition of freedom to raise awareness and spark social conversation around gender equality and women’s rights issues around the world. The movement came to life after Dorothy and Angel Haze recorded the powerful anthem, “Freedom” remixed by TROY NöKA.

Eric Champlin – “Silence (feat. Mikayla Jackson)”

Dallas, TX’s NU-95 Sign with Standby Records

Dallas, TX alternative/pop-punk band NU-95 has signed with Standby Records and will release their upcoming album ‘Fall Until We Fly’ on July 12.

THIS WILL DESTROY YOU: “Lie Down In The Light” Video

Instrumental/post-rock heroes THIS WILL DESTROY YOU will unveil their new video for “Lie Down In The Light” this Saturday via Adult Swim’s Toonami.

18 Year Old Rapper – Lil Poppa – Releases “Man of The Year”

With his powerful wordplay and soulful storytelling, Lil Poppa turns each of his songs into an up-close account of life in his hometown of Jacksonville, FL. Today the dynamite young talent has released the first offering off his upcoming new project Under Investigation 2 (out this Spring) — a powerful anthem in “Man of The Year.”

For Skope: Shadient’s techno-bass crossover “Abberate” [out now], from upcoming EP [Gud Vibrations]

Rising R&B Artist Alex Harris’s “5 Miles” Visual Out Now

Alex Harris, the Texas-hailing Atlanta-based rising alternative R&B singer-songwriter, releases the visual for his track “5 Miles,” out today via RED MUSIC. The song is a standout from Harris’s recently released genre-bending debut EP Pink Cloud, which dropped last month, and fuses classic and current pop, hip-hop, alternative, and R&B melodies while showcasing lyrics penned by Harris that detail his personal journey as an artist coming into his own.

URCHN releases an offbeat flip of “Composure” by Jim Alxndr

Today, March 8th, LA-producer, URCHN releases a synth-centric flip of “Composure” by Jim Alxndr via Casablanca Sunset.

Quiet Kids unveil sparkling new single via Earmilk | Debut EP out 3/29

The track premiered via Earmilk where the band’s Andy Peña detailed, “People, places, and things pull you in every direction and it’s easy to please any and everyone. If we all just said what was on our minds we’d have much more of an understanding of who we are and what we’re looking for.”


“Julian Taylor, this is your life.” – Those weren’t the exact words used by Taylor’s mother one recent Christmas when she gifted him a trunk full of all kinds of personal memorabilia. But she may as well have. Wading through that treasure chest in his attic led to a period of self-reflection that resulted in the Julian Taylor Band’s most personal record to date, Avalanche.

News: Nashville Indie Duo Clemency Release Powerful New Single “Captive”

“This song is a declaration of devotion and deep love for someone who first loved us. We wrote it in an attempt to capture how it feels to be loved well; inspiring, adventurous, fulfilling, emotional, and uplifting.” – Clemency

Lil Skies-Cosigned Rap Prodigy Suigeneris Announces Suinami Project, Shares “Purple Drip” Video

Where were you when you were 15 years-old? Odds are you were not fostering a successful career in hip-hop like Bay Area 15-year-old Suigeneris. Today, Suigeneris announces Suinami, his next project, with appearances from DaBoii, Lildaddex, TJ Porter, and more. The follow-up to his 2018 debut project The Cheat Code, Suinami gets its strength from Suie’s preternatural facility with melody and hooks–a skill that earned him the attention of Lil Skies. Arriving as he prepares for his first-ever headlining tour and rides the wave of his recent single “Lucifer” (over 1 million combined plays), Suinami releases on March 15th via EMPIRE.

Nick Murphy Announces Sophomore Album, Releases First Single

Nick Murphy just announced details for his long-awaited sophomore full length album Run Fast Sleep Naked, out April 26 via Downtown Records / Future Classic / Opulent. The Dave Harrington co-produced album follows is his first full length release since his widely praised 2014 debut Built on Glass (released as Chet Faker).

ASTHMA CASTLE: Metal Injection Premieres New Track From Stoner Metal/Sludge Dealers

Stoner metal/sludge dealers ASTHMA CASTLE — featuring within their ranks drummer Adam Jarvis (Pig Destroyer, Misery Index, Scour), the twin guitar attack of Justin Ethem and Cameron Smith (Passage Between, Crawler), vocalist Zach Westphal (ex-J. Roddy Walston And The Business), and bassist Jeff Davis (Damnation Audio effects pedals) — will drop their smoldering Mount Crushmore full-length March 15th via Hellmistress Records. As a precursor to its release, Metal Injection is pleased to unveil “Here Come The Black Ship” for communal ingestion.

Luke Combs’ “This One’s For You” certified double platinum

Luke Combs’ breakthrough debut album This One’s For You is now certified RIAA double Platinum. Since it’s release June 2, 2017, the album has spent a total of 27 non-consecutive weeks at #1 on the Billboard Country Albums chart, including 16 weeks in 2018—making it the highest selling country album last year with 1.1 million equivalent album units sold and the only country album to surpass 1 million album units. It’s also the most-streamed country album of 2019 so far.

URCHN releases off-kilter flip of “Composure” by Jim Alxndr

On the remix, Jim Alxndr showcases his unique approach to electronic production. The remix features lush dream-like synthesizers alongside off-kilter hand claps, dark textures and piercing vocals at a downtempo rhythm. It’s a genre-defying tune, uniquely positioned in the electronic music landscape.