@skopemag News For September 24, 2018 @ 11 AM EST

Famous Dex, Lil Baby, Rich the Kid & Jay Critch Team Up for “Nervous”    

Famous Dex kicks off the fall with his newest single, “Nervous” featuring hip-hop heavy weights, Lil Baby, Rich the Kid, and Jay Critch. The high energy record is produced by Take A Daytrip, one of the producers for Sheck Wes’s viral “Mo Bamba” record.

“Nervous” comes shortly after the TRL premiere of Dex’s “Light” music video featuring Drax Project. Earlier this year the Chicago artist released his debut album, Dex Meets Dexter, which included the smash hit records, “Pick It Up” and “Japan,” both of records have gone platinum in the U.S. Appearances on the album include: A$AP Rocky, Wiz Khalifa, and Diplo.

Liza Owen drops acoustic version of new single ‘Polite’

Amassing over 7 million Spotify streams to date, British-Cambodian soul-pop powerhouse Liza Owen has dropped the acoustic version of her latest single ‘Polite.’

Native Sun Announce New EP, Share “Big Succ(ess)” Track Via The 405

The 405 has announced Brooklyn-based rockers Native Sun’s new EP ‘Always Different, Always The Same’. They also premiered the first single “Big Succ(ess)”. When talking about the track the band states, “Big Succ(ess)” sheds light on the empowerment of the immigrant experience and identity. The ability to utilize oppression and detriment to breed passion.” Look out for more from Native Sun in the forthcoming months.

Electronic Pop Collective LaKyoto Return with ‘Something About You’

It has been a little over twelve months since Edinburgh outfit LaKyoto announced their arrival, quickly receiving support from Made In Chelsea, Amazing Radio and The Line Of Best Fit. Now the quartet return with another one of their signature upbeat, instantly addictive tracks ‘Something About You’, dropping September 28th.

New video from Mark Knopfler for “Good On You Son;” new album “Down The Road Wherever” out 11/16

“Good On You Son” has already received extensive critical praise, with Brooklyn Vegan noting that it “definitely still has that Knopfler/Straits style” and additional acclaim coming from Rolling Stone, Stereogum, Guitar World and many more.

Brooks Thomas (experimental pop) share music video for “Gravity” from their new album Poison (out now!)

The songs that comprise Poison are representative of the bands’ alchemic blend of influences. Based in the Bronx, Brooks Thomas concocts unconventional electronic R&B that’s inspired by classic soul and artists like Dirty Projectors and Miguel. Exploring new ways to reach those emotional heights, producer Danny McDonald began utilizing experimental production techniques and pushing their bassist Rocky Russo toward toying with unorthodox pedals to change the songs’ textures, along with having their dual singers Colleen Cadogan and Arianne Lombardi create three-part harmonies that deviate from the standard 1-3-5. All of it lives as a creative feedback loop, the recordings affecting the live show affecting the recordings. Together, Brooks Thomas has taken everything from their uptown world — their helter-skelter neighborhood, the flowing alcohol, their sundry influences, the prolonged heartbreak — and distilled it into Poison, a rare, inimitable album. Stunning even as it burns, it’s a toxin well worth drinking down.

Hear Nathan Bowles’ newest single “Fresh & Fairly So”

Nathan describes the song this way: “‘Fresh & Fairly So’ is a tribute to those moments in our lives where, despite our shortcomings and capacity for making the same mistakes again and again, we’re each able to resonate in harmony with our inner selves, our outward intentions, our fellow travelers — moments few & far between, but necessary and vital. It’s not a celebratory tune per se, but it’s far from navel-gazing, which can be my default mode if I’m not too careful.”

Pre-listen to Gabriel Gassi “Lost”

Swedish artist / music maker Gabriel Gassi has been brewing his own brand of hip-hop, pop and dance hall originals, wearing multiple hats and impressing with every instalment including Global Viral charting & overall Spotify streams. His latest release ‘Lost’ will project him to new heights as he nails the balance between commercial pop hooks and progressive, dynamic production.

TOURNIQUET publish lyric video for “Sinister Scherzo”

US thrash/heavy metal veterans Tourniquet have published a lyric video for the single ‘Sinister Scherzo’, which is taken off from the band’s forthcoming album, “Gazing at Medusa” which is scheduled to be released mid October via Pathogenic Records.

Drummer and songwriter Ted Kirkpatrick comments: “We’re thrilled with the response to the first two singles. This album took considerably longer to record than expected, but we feel the fans will find it to be worth the wait. It’s been great to work with Tim and Chris on this one.”

Swiss Post-Noise/Sludge instrumentalists ØLTEN shared new song “Klark”

3 years and a half after the release of their acclaimed debut full-length effort ‘Mode’ (2015, Division Records/Hummus Records), Swiss post-noise/sludge instrumentalists Ølten just shared a first audio excerpt from their next record with “Klark” – writing in collaboration with Johannes Persson of Cult Of Luna – available right now on Bandcamp.