Post-punk/grunge outfit Castle Black release socially powerful single “Sierra”

Television, internet and social media make it easier than ever to bring world issues to light – but an overwhelming quantity of information also makes it easy for them to be forgotten, as one day rolls into the next. Brooklyn post-punk/grunge band Castle Black use their new single “Sierra” to revive one such issue; bringing fresh awareness to the ongoing hardships and atrocities that women across the globe still face. The song was directly inspired by the plight of women in Sierra Leone, many of whom face hunger, domestic and sexual violence, and lack of legal action to provide change, all in a country still recovering from civil war. An ongoing daily struggle, their situation, and the fight of many others too often becomes overlooked and forgotten. “Sierra” provides a powerfully reflective piece, providing a stand for many who don’t have a voice.

The Stray Birds Announce New Album ‘Let It Pass’

If The Stray Birds were going to make another album, there was only one way it would happen: together. The idea was at once a challenge, an ultimatum, and a survival mechanism for a band at the crossroads. Write the record collaboratively, or don’t write it at all. Let It Pass, the record resulting from the crossroads, is The Stray Birds’ most powerful, personal, and cathartic collection yet. Releasing September 7th on Yep Roc Records, Let It Pass charts the trio’s tumultuous emotional journey in the years since the release of their acclaimed 2016 album Magic Fire, a period which saw fiddler/guitarist/banjoist/vocalist Maya de Vitry and fiddler/guitarist/mandolinist/vocalist Oliver Craven end their romantic relationship while choosing to continue their musical one. Along with bassist/banjoist/vocalist Charlie Muench, the pair had to face down an uncertain future and reevaluate what it meant to create art together.

“Who Knew” Marks New Music & Hand-Drawn Video From Kalyna Rakel

With songs that could playlist among the likes of Amy Winehouse and Janis Joplin, Barrie-area singer/songwriter Kalyna Rakel releases her new single “Who Knew” ahead of her fourth album, Before & After You — available June 15th.

Before & After You is Kalyna Rakel through and through. Raw, detailed, heartfelt and honest in its storytelling, the release is a two-part concept album telling the story of a love gone good, then bad.

The 12-track album features fine Canadian talent, including the legendary guitarist Kevin Breit (The Sisters Euclid, Celine Dion, Norah Jones, Serena Ryder, Hugh Laurie, Michael Kaeshammer), and rests easy on a shelf of its own, from distorted garage blues to dreamy, ethereal folk.

Cold Fronts Release Official Video For ‘Fantasy Du Jour’

Today, the Philly-based indie rock band Cold Fronts share the music video for the title track off their sophomore album Fantasy Du Jour which came out April 20 through Sire Records. The video was produced and directed by Peter English.

L.A. Girlfriend Shares ‘REGINA’ EP Via The 405

Today, LA-based, fuzz pop artist L.A. Girlfriend shares her REGINA EP. The 405 premiered the EP praising it, stating, “This juxtaposition — of beauty and ferocity — is at the core of LA Girlfriend’s mission with this record, which highlights the duality of our lives.” REGINA EP is out now on DSPs.

Reuben Bidez Releases New Song “Don’t Let Me Die”

On June 22, the forward-thinking folk rocker Reuben Bidez will release his second EP Something To Say. Ahead of the EP’s arrival next Friday, Bidez released “Don’t Let Me Die,” a sharp, swaggering pop song about a life lived far too carelessly.

Tee Grizzley drops video for “2 Vaults” feat. Lil Yachty

Following the release of his explosive debut album Activated on 300 Entertainment which broke into the Billboard Top 200 at #10, Detroit’s Tee Grizzley releases a new video for his smash “2 Vaults” featuring Lil Yachty. The song itself, produced by London on da Track, has has earned over 20 million plays and counting across streaming platforms.

The String Cheese Incident releases new song “Otherside”

Today, The String Cheese Incident releases their latest creation, “Otherside.” Produced in the spirit of collaboration with high energy electronic/pop trio TELYKast and organic dance music songstress Ruby Chase, the result is a powerful song which highlights each artist’s recognizable musicianship, backed by distinctive production and songwriting. The song was released today as part of The String Cheese Incident’s continuing Sound Lab Series.

The Over Unders – “Top of the World” Track Premiere

Consisting of brothers, Sam (21) and Matthew (18) Hellman, The Over Unders decided to record their first full-length LP, One Fine Day to showcase their “Britpop comes to Eau Claire, Wisconsin” rock n’ roll sound.

This track, “Top of the World”, is the first debut single for the brothers off their upcoming LP One Fine Day. The track features steady, gritty guitars with soft production, letting the vocal chops of the Hellmans shine through. A little bit of Green Day, a little bit of Beatles, a whole lot of Over Unders. For two brothers trying their hand at the music scene, they’re on top of the world.

The Dirt & The Grime Release Pulsating Debut Single; Announce EP

“It’s about falling in love with a prostitute, just like the movie Pretty Woman,” says The Dirt & The Grime of their newest single, “Do U Love Me.” If that doesn’t get you to push play, we don’t know what will.

And, when you do push play, make sure to crank it up loud.

The Home Team Release New Single, “She’s Quiet”

Today, Seattle-based pop punk outfit, The Home Team, has released a brand new single, “She’s Quiet.” The track is the third single the band has released since announcing their signing to Revival Recordings in mid-March and is also featured on the band’s debut label LP, Better Off. Accompanying the single, The Home Team has also released a stream video which is available to watch on the Revival Recordings YouTube channel.

Town Mountain Announces New Album, “New Freedom Blues”

Town Mountain announces their return with their sixth studio album, New Freedom Blues. Set for release October 5, 2018, producer Caleb Klauder joined the band at Asheville’s legendary Echo Mountain Studios late last year to record the 11-track masterpiece, which features drummer and Sturgill Simpson collaborator Miles Miller, as well as a duet and co-write with Tyler Childers. Along with the official album announcement, the album’s first single and title track, “New Freedom Blues” premiered exclusively today via BGS. Town Mountain is currently touring the U.S. throughout late summer and will appear at Ossipee Valley Music Festival, Soulshine Festival, and Wheatland Music Festival.