@skopemag news – tuesday – january 21, 2020 @ 3 pm est

@skopemag APP – Apple iTunes –
@skopemag APP – Google / Android –

Out Now: Electro-pop outfit Hundreds release new single “Body of Water”

‘Body of Water’ is the latest offering from electro-pop band Hundreds. The single is, according to lead singer Eva Milner, “an ode to the spirits of the water and its power”, something mirrored in its serenity as much as its lyrical sense of impending threats. It was written with cult Berlin-based, Irish songwriter Wallis Bird, “without whom,” Eva confesses, “I never would’ve found that chorus”, and finds the singer turning to images of nature – as she does frequently on upcoming album The Current – to reflect on the peace which the sea can bring: “They uncover my core, my truth… Our childhood memories are filled with days of running around,” she explains, “being creators in the wilderness. Nature is like a relative to us.”

Raz & Afla will take you on a jacking cosmic afro house journey with ‘No Touch’

Beating Heart presents a fresh collaboration from prolific Hackney-based producer Raz Olsher and Ghanaian master musician Alfa Sackey presenting their own take on Afro House.

Using organic percussion they build a funky infectious groove, with lush vocal harmony hooks coming in and electronic melodies taking the track on a jacking cosmic journey through the entire African continent and beyond…

Gabrielle Aplin releases new album ‘Dear Happy’ to critical acclaim

Gabrielle Aplin has released her brand new album Dear Happy via AWAL and her own label Never Fade Records.

Dear Happy has been released to swathes of critical praise, and the album is featured as Radio 2’s ‘Album Of The Week’ this week. The singles of Dear Happy are riding high on the playlists of Radio 2, together with great support from Radio 1. They have also clocked up well over 100 million streams.

New > Handsome Boys (Moleskin & Boardgame James) announce debut EP, ‘And The Award Goes To’

Handsome Boys began as a radio project between Moleskin & Boardgame James; their intention, write and play as many of their own beats on their monthly show as possible. The show, which ran from 2015 to 2018, proved a fertile playground for some of London’s most exciting MCs, with the apex often the few minutes dedicated to lacing one of the duo’s makeshift soul instrumentals. The ‘beautiful loops’ edit series was born, and with that the Handsome Boys aesthetic.

Archie Faulks – ‘What For’

A song that gently caresses the eardrums, with a moorish, alluring ambience … London based-singer songwriter Archie Faulks kicks off the new decade with his latest single ‘What For’.

With over 4 million streams across his previous singles, radio plays from BBC Radio 1 and Radio X, appearances at The Great Escape Festival and Live At Leeds, plus shows alongside Isaac Gracie, Rue Royal, Luke Sital-Singh and Delilah Montagu, ‘What For’ will appear on the ‘Longing in London’ EP (set for release on February 14th 2020).

NewKings – “No River”

Encompassing the sounds of rock, country, gospel, blues & soul, the NewKings’ unique sound is driven by gritty vocals over American roots music.

“No River” was recorded and produced at historic Sound Kitchen Studio by GRAMMY nominated & GMA Dove Award winning producer, Robert Venable.


Having picked up fans in the likes of Wonderland Magazine, NME, The Line Of Best Fit and more, Norwegian newcomer HALIE follows up recent single Circling with another nod towards her obvious pop potential in stunning new offering, New Fears. Marrying the pop sensibility of Charli XCX and defiance of early Lorde, HALIE cements herself as one to watch in 2020 with this dreamy single. Speaking on the release, HALIE states:

Introducing > LYAM > video ‘ORIGAMI’

LYAM (real name Liam Harris) is a boundary defying new voice for the UK, making a blend of experimental UK rap, dance and sound system culture.

A mixed-media creative, this cinematic artist sees music as a blank canvas for sound design to create “worlds within worlds”. ORIGAMI hosts his most recent collaborations with two of the most celebrated female artists in underground music right now; Shygirl and John Glacier.

William Duvall shares brand new live video for ‘Smoke And Mirrors’

Recording artist William DuVall, frontman for the iconic band Alice In Chains, has released a live video for ‘Smoke and Mirrors’, recorded at Holly Lane Studios.

‘Smoke and Mirrors’ is a dark and sultry affair, centred around love and the firm grasp that it’s capable of taking. The acoustic tones have the power to both pulverise and comfort, with William’s voice gracefully soaring overhead as he pours his incredible voice all over the rich landscape beneath him.

Michael Wolff Readies Joyful ‘Bounce’ for February 7th

DownBeat and Jazziz have exclusively premiered tracks from Michael Wolff’s upcoming February 7th release, ‘Bounce’. The acclaimed jazz pianist’s joyful new album is an exuberant ride, and reflects Wolff’s upbeat state of mind following his ‘miraculous’ recovery from aggressive cancer. Able to convey a range of emotions, ‘Bounce’ finds its beauty in Wolff’s remarkable journey. He comments, “‘Bounce’ is filled with music like the music I grew up listening to and playing. It transcends jazz and it feels like the best album I’ve ever made. It also comes at such a perfect time for me. It expresses my inner soul and the joy of living and making music. It’s the most important release of my life.”

Wilma Archer Shares MF Doom Collaboration Track, “Last Sniff”

Today, Wilma Archer announces a new album, A Western Circular, due for release on April 3rd. A Western Circular is Will Archer’s debut under his new nom-de-plume, following early EPs and an album under the now-retired Slime moniker.

Pixies + Beneath The Erie Demos Digital Release

Today, Pixies release Beneath The Eyrie Demos: Pt. 1, three tracks recorded over the course of 2018 leading up to the band’s December 2018 Beneath The Eyrie album sessions at Dreamland Recordings in Woodstock, NY. Written by Charles Thompson, the three songs, “The Good Works of Cyrus (Demo),” “Please Don’t Go (Demo),” and “Chapel Hill (Demo),” are now available for the first time on all streaming and download services, and can be accessed.

Rachel Beck – ‘Warrior’ (Official)

“Warrior” celebrates strength and beauty. It is an anthem for the fierce, the fearless, the feminine. The song is inspired by my 4-year-old daughter, Nora… imagining the kind of woman she will grow up to be. It is also influenced by badass women throughout history – the ground-breakers and the change-makers. Amelia. Greta. Rosa. Malala.


The internet as a whole has never been a reliable resource for detailed or even accurate information re: Radiohead. Many sites that attempted to provide some measure of service have long since gone dark as well. The overall effect has been “Radiohead” search results that yield random and/or abbreviated shards: songs and album titles unaccompanied by detailed artwork or any additional context, low quality videos preceded by advertisements and shuffled via algorithms, and so on…

INSECT ARK: Revolver Debuts “Philae” From Instrumental Psychedelic Doom Duo

Revolver Magazine is currently streaming “Philae” from INSECT ARK, the instrumental psychedelic doom duo featuring founder Dana Schechter (Swans) and Andy Patterson (ex-SubRosa). The track comes off the band’s stunning forthcoming new full-length, The Vanishing, set for release February 28th via Profound Lore.


Regal and radiant, Jah9 delves into an introspective sonic journey that enlightens its listeners along the way on her third studio album Note To Self, due March 13, 2020 on VP Records. As one of the leading forces in contemporary Jamaican music, the multi-talented artist and yogi blends her signature “jazz on dub” with reggae, soul and afrobeat funk into a rich warm concoction that celebrates self-care and love through Jah9’s lens of clarity and strength.