@skopemag news – weekend – december 7-8, 2019 @ 3 pm est

@skopemag APP – Apple iTunes –
@skopemag APP – Google / Android –


12/11 – Portland, OR – Hawthorne Theater
12/12 – Vancouver, BC – Fortune Sound Club
12/13 – Seattle, WA – The Showbox

“Rence has had a breakthrough summer” – NYLON
“Rence is one of the breakout stars of 2019” – IDOLATOR
“Rence maintains his independence in an industry full of clones” – O.N.S

Graham Norwood Shares New Single “Collapses To Zero” From Debut Album ‘Out Of The Sea’ Out January 31

Today, San Francisco singer-songwriter Graham Norwood shared the latest single from his debut album Out Of The Sea, “Collapses To Zero.” “Beginning with soft acoustic strumming before introducing dreamy steel guitar, the song is a an existential meditation that finds its singer wading through a sea of reverb that washes over the listener with a sense of warmth. Graham, who showcases both his folk singer side and his more soulful, with high octave vocals and far out harmonies, brings to mind the quieter side of Harry Nilsson with an indie rock sensibility.”

SONG PREMIERE: Graham Norwood Gazes Into Existential Abyss on Dreamy Folk-Rocker “Collapses To Zero”

Little Steven’s Early Solo Career Boxed Set “RockNRoll Rebel – The Early Work” Out Today

Los Angeles – December 6, 2019 – For the first time, Little Steven’s pioneering early solo career albums have been collected together in a new boxed set, RockNRoll Rebel – The Early Work (Wicked Cool/UMe), which includes all of the Rock & Roll Hall of Famer’s solo records between 1982 and 1999, as well as the landmark protest album, Sun City, by Artists United Against Apartheid, the supergroup of musicians brought together by Little Steven aka Steven Van Zandt and record producer Arthur Baker to fight racial injustice in South Africa. RockNRoll Rebel – The Early Work is available today exclusively via uDiscover.

New Music // Younger Hunger – “Second Place”

Orange County’s upstarters, Younger Hunger, chime into your daily proceedings with a hell of an emo anthem, that packs a punch with a message most can relate to, and that’s simply put… Second Place SUCKS!

Elephant Stone Premiere New Single “The Court and Jury” via Under The Radar

Montreal psych-pop group Elephant Stone have shared another taste of their forthcoming Hollow LP (set for release on Valentine’s Day 2020 through Fuzz Club). Watch Under The Radar’s video premiere of “The Court and Jury,” and stream the new single via your preferred platform now.

Fireside Collective releases second single from upcoming album

Blending bluegrass, blues and a healthy dose of danceable funk, Fireside Collective’s “Don’t Stop Lovin’ Me” reveals them to be a band out to make a unique artistic statement — and by any measure, that’s exactly what their second single from Mountain Home Music Company is.

Written and sung by guitarist Joe Cicero, the new release highlights the quintet’s musical dexterity, along with its commitment to original material — an outlook that places it alongside artists in the broader indie-roots music category as well as colleagues on the progressive end of the bluegrass spectrum. With its insistent pulse, snappy ensemble passages, virtuosic breakdown section and almost hypnotic refrain, “Don’t Stop Lovin’ Me” packs a lot into its three-plus minutes.

Top New Song // Tate McRae – “stupid”

Tate McRae has delivered the anthem for those who are driven crazy for somebody who they shouldn’t, and the results, new single stupid, is further evidence why the teenage Canadian is an is exceptional talent for 2020.

DIVINE ASTRONAUT’s haunting new video and single ‘Undone’ are out now

Divine Astronaut are an electronic group featuring singer Livvy Holland and Producer/multi instrumentalist Moonhead. The duo describe their sound as night-time music that is downtempo alternative electronica with triphop and industrial elements.
As the pair constantly travel, it was above 35,000 feet somewhere over Europe in 2019 that the band came to fruition, Moonhead lamenting the abscence of eletronic acts from the 90’s in the current musical soundscape. With Holland in agreement, the duo vowed to start an electronic act and upon landing in Eastern Europe they started work on their album.

Cro-Mags Release New EP From The Grave

2019 was a roller coaster year for CRO-MAGS founder, bassist and vocalist Harley Flanagan. From regaining sole ownership of the band name he created, to playing with his childhood friends in the re-united Misfits, CRO-MAGS took their punk-fueled legacy across the US and Europe, released their first music video in 27 years, and put out their first music in nearly 20 years via two EPs – Don’t Give In (released in June) and From The Grave (available today). The three song EP is available on limited 7 inch editions of clear w/ black smoke, solid yellow, clear orange and glow in the dark vinyl.

G. Love Releases “Soul-B-Que” ft. Roosevelt Collier 

Masterful multi-instrumentalist G. Love has released a new song titled “Soul-B-Que”, the latest offering from his forthcoming Keb’ Mo’-produced album The Juice (out January 17 via Philadelphonic/Thirty Tigers). The upbeat new track finds G. Love (aka Garrett Dutton) teaming up with legendary pedal steel guitar player Roosevelt Collier to paint a picture of a rowdy celebration with family and friends. It was featured by Billboard, who proclaimed “G. Love lights a funky fire on ‘Soul-B-Que’.”

12-year-old singer/songwriter/guitar player phenom Jack Barksdale releases music video

During a recent discussion about songwriting, a fellow musician challenged Jack Barksdale, with the goal being that both songwriters pen a new song and perform it at an upcoming show they had together. Barksdale accepted the challenge, and just two short weeks later, Jack Barksdale debuted his new song, “Man in the Shadows,” at the Bugle Boy in La Grange, Texas.


Global superstar producer/ Electronic DJ Matoma and Petey have teamed up for their new single “Keep it Simple” featuring, singer-songwriter, Wilder Woods. The catchy collaboration is available now at all DSPs and streaming services HERE. The single arrives alongside a vibrant and psychedelic lyric video, created by the incredibly talented animation and video team who previously worked on Matoma’s “All Around The World” + “I Don’t Dance (Without You)” –