@skopemag news for – tuesday – december 3, 2019 @ 9:30 am est

REPLACIRE Announce U.S. Tour Dates

02/06: Philadelphia, PA @ Milkboy
02/07: Frederick, MD @ Cafe 611
02/08: Brooklyn, NY @ Kingsland
02/09: Somerville, MA @ Once Lounge
02/10: Toronto, ON @ Hard Luck
02/11: Detroit, MI @ Sanctuary
02/12: Indianapolis, IN @ Black Circle
02/13: Pittsburgh, PA @ The Smiling Moose
02/14: Lakewood, OH @ Symposium
02/15: Chicago, IL @ Reggies Music Joint
02/16: Dayton, OH @ Turnbuckles & Brews

Young Fletcher featuring Yo Gotti “Truth Be Told”

Young Fletcher…His sound is a sensual blend of hip-hop, retro soul and foward thinking R&B/pop. Fletcher’s music pulsates with so much emotion it compels you to stop and ask: Who is Young Fletcher? The child of a Christian minister and a devout Muslim, Lamont Fletcher, learned the art of embracing multiple beliefs and experiences at a young age. This Winston-Salem and Charlotte, native has used these experiences to help create music that translates a myriad of thoughts and conveys a spectrum of emotions. With his smooth and silky vocals and his phenomenal song writing abilities, Young Fletcher has spent a lifetime evolving into a musical powerhouse. Join him on his journey…

PRONG’s “Age of Defiance” EP Out Now on SPV/Steamhammer

The new 5-track EP opens with the title song ‘Age Of Defiance’, which Tommy Victor describes as “pretty unusual for Prong”. “It’s extremely powerful, with a great groove, haunting chorus, everything’s fresh and contemporary.” According to the Prong mastermind, the second studio number ‘End Of Sanity’ is “a thrash/hardcore/crossover number in typical Prong style which I wrote especially for our American tour with Agnostic Front. If you’re into Prong, you’ll love this track.” Age Of Defiance also features three live cuts, recorded by Victor & co. during their major headlining tour at Berlin club Huxleys Neue Welt in April 2015: ‘Rude Awakening’ from the same-named 1996 opus, plus ‘Another Worldly Device’ and ‘Cut Rate’ from the 1994 major label album release Cleansing. A total of five songs which forge an arc between past, present and future.

Jeff Parker teases new LP with 7” Single “Max Brown” and Video [International Anthem]

Composer and multi-instrumentalist Jeff Parker releases a 7” single featuring parts one and two of his song “Max Brown” today, via a newly formed partnership between International Anthem and Nonesuch Records. A video for the track, filmed and directed by interdisciplinary artist Mikel Patrick Avery, also debuted today and can be seen here. The song was produced by Parker alongside Paul Bryan, who also plays bass; additional featured are Josh Johnson (known for work with Kiefer, Leon Bridges) on alto sax, Nate Walcott (Bright Eyes, M. Ward) on trumpet, and Jamire Williams (Moses Sumney, Solange) on drums. “Max Brown” is a sneak peek of Jeff Parker’s new album, the first to be released via this partnership. Further details of the early 2020 release will be announced at the start of the New Year.

London-based, Dark Indie Rock Group, OFFICER, Unveils Magnetizing Single Ahead of Upcoming Album

Logan explains the new single’s inspiration: “It’s a song about having been brought to a place of being very lost from both yourself and the one you love, where you feel you’re totally on your knees. Where you feel the one you love is on their knees. Where you feel your relationship is on its knees. Where you’ve taken a lot of knocks and you’re wondering ‘Can I, can we, get back up again this time?’. It’s a song about being forgiven and forgiving… about hitting stop on the overwhelming mania of overworked city life, retreating to a peaceful place together, and choosing to work on things.”



“With You This Christmas” follows the release of Why Don’t We’s monumental new single “What Am I,” which continues its ascent to #21 at Pop radio this week while boasting over 75.4 million streams and 13.4 million video views. Since release, the band has performed “What Am I” on NBC’s TODAY Show Citi Concert Series, MTV’s TRL and ABC’s Live with Kelly & Ryan, in addition to hosting six widely successful merch pop-up shops across the US. Penned by Ed Sheeran and produced by Steve Mac, “What Am I” marks the triumphant follow up to “8 Letters” – the RIAA-Gold certified Top 20 single which alone accounts for 247 million of the band’s over 1.4 billion global streams.

Apple Announces First Ever Apple Music Awards

Introducing the Apple Music Awards, a celebration of the best and boldest musicians of 2019 and the enormous impact they have had on global culture this year. The Apple Music Awards honor achievements in music across five distinct categories and winners are chosen through a process that reflects both the service’s editorial perspective, combined with what customers around the world are loving most.

The winners for Global Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year and Breakthrough Artist of the Year were hand-selected by Apple Music’s global editorial team of experts and tastemakers and given to artists who have true passion for their craft, who boldly defy conventions in the category and who embody a sense of humanity, where listeners are drawn as much to who they are as to their music. The awards for Album of the Year and Song of the Year are based on streaming data and reflective of what Apple Music customers have been listening to this year.


“Señorita” follows the group’s latest covers of Lizzo’s “Good As Hell” and Daniel Caesar and H.E.R.’s “Best Part” which features live footage and behind the scenes footage from the group’s summer tour in support of Pentatonix, which included performances at New York City’s Madison Square Garden and The Forum in Los Angeles. Check out Citizen Queen’s “Evolution of Girl Groups” video which has garnered over 13 million views on YouTube.

Stone Temple Pilots Announce First Acoustic Album And Tour, New Single Available Now

Stone Temple Pilots embark upon a new sonic adventure with PERDIDA, the band’s first-ever acoustic album. It features 10 deeply personal songs that weave introspective lyrics together with unexpected instruments to take listeners on an emotional and musical journey through letting go and starting over.