@skopemag news for – monday – november 25, 2019 @ 11 am est

Alexandria Maillot: “Someone to Keep You Warm”

Alexandria Maillot alternates between a solo project and a band. Overall, it is a fleeting music experience that changes with the seasons, constantly yearning for connection and seeking out those who see music as therapy.

Alexandria released Benevolence, her new album, today along with the newest fous track “Someone to Keep You Warm.” The song comes from a dark place, but plays as a fun, danceable alt-pop bop.

Hello Forever Release New Video for “Colors In The Sky”

The track is off Hello Forever’s forthcoming album, Whatever It Is, which combines a wide range of influences from doo-wop and jazz to skiffle and R&B while elaborate arrangements juxtapose concise songs across this laptop-age “pocket symphony.” The album was recorded over 200 days in bedrooms and borrowed studios in Santa Monica and Castaic by Joseph who immersed himself in constant production and features the collective’s previously released singles “Anywhere Is Everywhere.”

LIMAHL Gets Ready to Release Christmas Song “London for Christmas”

“I am intrigued by songs with place names,” says UK musical icon LIMAHL about his Christmas song “London for Christmas” (release date: December 6, 2019). “We all know them… Amarillo, San Jose, Tulsa, San Francisco, New York, Paris, etc. And I thought to myself, where the hell is our great city of London in this geographical music map?!”

The Picturebooks Announce Headline U.S. Tour Dates

Alternative rock band The Picturebooks announce a handful of headline tour dates in the U.S. this winter. The band will be hitting the road for their headline shows starting January 2nd in San Diego, CA before hitting the road with British Lion on January 18th.

Ireland’s David Keenan announces debut album; shares new song

Hailing from the small, Irish border town of Dundalk, David Keenan is a young singer-songwriter with a lyrical gift for storytelling and a well-tuned ear for a melody. Signed to Rubyworks, the same Irish independent label as fellow countryman Hozier and Rodrigo y Gabriela; David Keenan’s debut album, entitled A Beginner’s Guide To Bravery will be released worldwide on Friday, January 10, 2020. Today, Keenan released an acoustic version of his new song, “Altar Wine.”

Kyra Mastro – “Tread Lightly” – Listen to My NEW Song!

“After ten years of songwriting, I am finally proud of where my musical evolution has brought me. I’m excited to share my experiences with the world while continuously learning from those around me.”

CATTLE DECAPITATION Kicks Off North American Headlining Tour With Atheist

The Geocidal Tendencies Head Tour runs through December 22nd in San Diego, California and includes a headlining performance at the official Decibel Magazine Metal & Beer Fest LA preparty December 12th at The Regent in Los Angeles, California. Support will be provided by Atheist, Full Of Hell, Primitive Man, Author & Punisher, and Vitriol on select dates. See all confirmed dates below.


Today, Jenna Putnam has released her new single, “Hold Still” out now on Rebel Union Recordings. A respected photographer and poet, the song marks Putnam’s second official release as a musician. Sharing the same title as her book of poetry, the release of “Hold Still” accompanies a digital second edition of the publication, featuring several new poems and a foreword from Alison Mosshart (The Kills).

INNER 29’s (Brazilian Pop Punk) “Now and Again, Here” EP Out Now

Indie Vision Music has just released the brand new EP from Brazilian based pop-punk/emo band – INNER 29. Full of catchy choruses and punchy guitar and piano-driven pop-punk music, the EP will appeal to fans of Something Corporate, Blink-182, Motion City Soundtrack, Relient K, Homegrown, Jimmy Eat World, Armor For Sleep, etc.

NEW MUSIC: The Expanders Release New Single, “Sweet and Slow” (Feat. Slightly Stoopid) on Easy Star Records

The Expanders are back with a new single, only their second original song released since their groundbreaking Hustling Culture album from 2015. “Sweet and Slow,” featuring Kyle McDonald of Slightly Stoopid, comes out on November 22nd on Easy Star Records. Find options to stream or order the single at http://www.theexpanders.net. The Expanders, who operate from a foundation rooted in deep appreciation for classic Jamaican music, continue to showcase the nostalgic “golden age” of reggae, but with their own modern take on it.


Los Angeles singer-songwriter Monica Ortiz released a warm holiday EP on Nov. 11th that features her rendition of the classic tunes “Let it Snow” and “Winter Wonderland” followed by an original track titled “My Holiday Bling.” This catchy new single highlights her delicate and ethereal vocals fused with a festive jazz-tinged melody.

Bonded Announce Debut Album ‘Rest In Violence’

BONDED, the new group by former Sodom members Bernd “Bernemann” Kost (Guitars) and Markus “Makka” Freiwald (Drums), are pleased to announce the release of their debut album Rest In Violence for January 17th, 2020 via Century Media Records. To celebrate the announcement, the band have just released their new track, “Je Suis Charlie”. Check out the music video directed by Nico Schiesewitz / Vizo Films.

Tangerine Dream alumni duo Neuland release debut 2xLP ‘Neuland’ today

“Tangerine Dream was always associated with the drug culture,” declared Paul Haslinger, “and implied mind expansion. We’re in the same game, even if the world and drugs have changed. It’s a different trip now, but it’s definitely intended to be a trip.”

“Long-awaited” doesn’t even begin to describe Neuland. After all, its core synth cadets — Peter Baumann and Paul Haslinger — first workshopped a record under a different name (Blue Room) nearly 30 years ago. Its promising sessions were ultimately shelved, but the project’s creative process firmly established their friendship and a fruitful dialogue that defies explanation.

Premiere: Listen to ‘Counting On Time’ by Neuland


When David Guetta dons his Jack Back alias there is no doubt he is still in touch with the authentic house sounds that first inspired him to make music. Following his Defected debut ‘(It Happens) Sometimes’ in 2018, and the headier ‘Survivor / Put Your Phone Down (Low)’ on DFTD earlier this year, Jack Back returns with his latest release ‘Freedom’. Collaborating with one of house music’s most loved artists CeCe Rogers, ‘Freedom’ provides an expressive, explosive and rave-ready cut destined for the dancefloor. House master Harry Romero steps up to remixing duties on the release, delivering a rumbling, atmospheric and groove-laden cut.

Sir Woman (Kelsey Wilson of Wild Child, Glorietta) Releases New Single “Speak”

Today, Sir Woman releases her latest single “Speak” from her forthcoming record Party City. The song was recorded at Echo Lab in Denton, TX, written by Kelsey Wilson and Cameron B Neal (Horse Thief, Elle King), and was produced, engineered and mixed by Matt Pence (Elle King, Shakey Graves, Justin Townes Earle). The Austin Chronicle said “Whereas the singer’s work co-fronting Wild Child explodes bittersweet pop, Sir Woman digs into more soulful grooves behind the songwriter’s intoxicating vocals,” going on to say, “‘Speak’ drops mellow and dreamy, with an atmospheric backing that reflects the contemplative feeling in the song’s creation.”