@skopemag news for – weekend – november 16-17, 2019 @ 1 pm est

Mount Kismet deliver debut album on Disco Halal

A collection of chugging, highly danceable tracks with an unmistakably Middle Eastern feel, Warmer Lanes sees Mount Kismet effortlessly combine electronic elements with traditional sounds. Conveying various shades and tempos across its ten tracks, the LP also includes latest single ‘Teenage Fantasy’, a track that features the dark, alluring vocals of French-Canadian artist C.A.R.

Dutch electronic pioneer Joris Voorn releases fourth studio album featuring Underworld

“I believe the mid-90s was the most inspiring time to be listening to electronic dance music. Artists were discovering new sounds and genres every single day, never again has there been so much innovation in such a short time. Around ’94/’95 a wealth of electronic producers created masterpieces that still sound inspiring 25 years later” – Joris Voorn

Klingande unveils masterful debut double album, The Album | Out Now via Ultra Music

Arriving just before the end of the decade, The Album is a combination of new music and well-known hits from the French artist’s back catalogue. Klingande has teased listeners with cuts from The Album throughout this year, having previously released ‘By The River’ with blues musician Jamie N Commons, ‘Ready For Love’ with Joe Killington & Greg Zlap, ‘Sinner’ with singer-songwriter Stevie Appleton, and ‘Messiah’ with electro-pop duo BRIGHT SPARKS.


Swansea based country crossover artist Eleri Angharad will release the cinematic video for new single ‘Staircase’ on November 15th. The track is the latest single to be officially lifted off Eleri’s 2019 debut album ‘Earthbound’ which has been streamed in excess of 12,000 times across Spotify since its release – impressive numbers for an independent artist still in the preliminary stages of their career. Numbers which keep on growing, with an excess of 4,000 monthly listeners, streaming is a playing a huge part in the success of Eleri’s music.

The song is all about falling fast and hard for someone before you even really know them – a sentiment many listeners will be familiar with; “Staircase is all about that moment you catch eyes with someone and your mind goes into overdrive imagining a whole lifetime set out. It’s about falling incredibly fast for someone and never knowing whether it’s real or all in your head”, Eleri states.

Rolling Stone India Backed, Nivid, Heads Rise Of Industrial Rock With Debut Album

Nivid is the ferocious industrial rock soundtrack to an environment bristling with Hellish energy. From the endlessly diverse backdrop of India, Nivid is a musical embodiment of an Indian population which deals with religion, politics, citizen’s rights and status on a daily basis. Written initially as a play, Mernā presents an alternate universe inhabited by Agent 2344, a Hindu recruited by religious zealots to spread chaos and marginalise the ‘immoral’ citizens, only to find him questioning his choices and fearing for his soul.

Global Icon José Feliciano Shares New Track “Behind This Guitar”

“Behind This Guitar” reunites Feliciano with his longtime producer, Rick Jarrard, at a landmark moment in an enduring global concert and recording career now well into its sixth decade. Recorded in Nashville – a first for Feliciano – with a stellar roster of collaborating musicians, the new music comes in the wake of the 50th anniversary of the singer/guitarist’s breakthrough success and his first Grammy Awards ®️.

Aubrie Sellers’ Far From Home Available February 7; Title Track Available Now

Ahead of the February 7th release of her highly-anticipated sophomore album Far From Home on Soundly Music, Aubrie Sellers releases the album’s reflective title track as her latest single. “Far From Home,” written by Aubrie alongside Park Chisholm, takes listeners on a sweeping, cinematic journey as Aubrie’s delicate vocals express both a weary loneliness and an unwavering faith that it won’t always be that way.


Modest Mouse’s last release was their 2015 album Strangers To Ourselves, which featured their #1 Alternative radio single “Lampshades on Fire”, and was described by NME as “brilliantly deranged”. The band has toured relentlessly since then, proving themselves to be one of the most consistent live acts today. In 2014, the band re-released their first two albums, This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About and The Lonesome Crowded West, on CD and vinyl through Brock’s Glacial Pace record label. Modest Mouse’s current lineup includes Brock, Jeremiah Green, Tom Peloso, Jim Fairchild, Russell Higbee, Lisa Molinaro, Ben Massarella and Davey Brozowski.

Golden Features x The Presets team up on RAKA EP

RAKA delivers four hard-hitting tracks composed of The Presets’ Julian Hamilton’s iconic vocals, Kim Moyes’ signature drums and keys, and Tom Stell’s gritty basslines. The collaboration brings out the best in the trio, feeding off each other to show sides of their talents never seen before.


New Zealand juggernaut Fat Freddy’s Drop return with a new studio album, ‘Special Edition Part 1’, due for release as a 2LP Vinyl and CD on 10th January, with its DL version available now. The 45rpm vinyl edition is produced with a different track order across four sides and promises to deliver super fat loud audio.

Silicon Valley Rocks! Returns to the Stage on December 3rd in Support of the American Diabetes Association®

Silicon Valley Rocks!, the first musical fundraiser to feature bands with members from the tech community, will be taking place on Tuesday, December 3rd in support of the American Diabetes Association (ADA) at Club Fox in Redwood City. Diabetes affects more than 30 million American adults, and bending the curve on this epidemic is near and dear to the hearts of several members of the participating bands.

Dub FX Releases First Single From New Album Roots

Renowned for pioneering heavy electronic dub style beats on the streets, using only his voice and a loop station, Australian Artist DUB FX has been busy recording a new album at his home studio in the forested mountains of outer Melbourne.


Tom Misch co-produces new Gen Hoshino single ‘Ain’t Nobody Know’

Japanese popstar Gen Hoshino has released the video for his single ‘Ain’t Nobody Know’, taken from his new EP Same Thing. The R&B-laced track has been co-produced with Tom Misch.

This video is Hoshino’s third released from the Same Thing EP and follows the lead single and title track featuring Superorganism, and ‘Sarashi-mono (feat. PUNPEE)’. They have collectively clocked up almost 4 million views.

Out Today Worldwide – Marc Broussard’s new album

On November 15th, Marc Broussard will release his new studio album A Lullaby Collection SOS III, and book, I Love You For You. Both were created to educate and inspire younger audiences. The new album finds Broussard re-imagining a series of classics — songs such as “Danny Boy,” “What a Wonderful World” and “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” plus two original compositions, “Bedtime” and “Gavin’s Song.”

Although geared to younger ears, Broussard’s soulful signature sound, and sweeping orchestration offer a universal appeal for listeners of all ages.

Marc Broussard’s Lullaby Version of ‘Moon River’ Is as Just Dreamy for Adults as It Is for Kids