#thursday – @skopemag news for October 17, 2019 @ 9:00 am est

@skopemag APP – Apple iTunes –
@skopemag APP – Google / Android –

Gene Foley Interview on the Podcast “Cover to Cover”

“During each conversation, we will discuss a single or an album with a special guest. Our guest will choose the single or album and reflect on what that piece of music means to them. We may focus on lyrics, a guitar tone, a piano solo, a state of mind. Through these conversations, we hope you will discover some new music, rekindle your love for an old forgotten song, and share a good moment with us as we sonically explore a world from Cover to Cover.” – Matt Tarka

Australia’s bedroom pop auteur has a new EP on Kitsune

Australian musician and songwriter Tim Ayre is the latest artist to come out of Melbourne’s vibrant scene of creatives. Recently, he announced a new EP via Kitsuné Musique, out on November 15, 2019. Ayre first previewed the release this summer with “LAXX”, an impressively catchy bop made all the more noteworthy by the fact that he produced it at home. Following the critical acclaim that came with his first single, we’ve shared “Not Like It Should Be” last month, and are so excited to share the third and final single with you today.


Sabrina’s newest album TRUTH IS marks the culmination of a three-year journey for Sabrina, from D.I.Y. bedroom singer and songwriter to prolific international headliner and, most importantly, a confident, conscious, and charismatic femme fatale. Having welcomed a myriad of co-writers and producers for the first time, the album sees Sabrina more vulnerable and collaborative than ever before. Notable collaborators range from esteemed songwriters Julia Michaels (Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez), Simon Wilcox (Nick Jonas, Camila Cabello), and Stephan Moccio to producers Stint (Gallant, Demi Lovato) and Nolan Lombroza (Nick Jonas, DJ Khaled, Kehlani). To honor and celebrate the incredible impact these collaborators had on both the album, and Sabrina’s personal growth, she included their portraits are prominently included on the official album artwork, the custom paintings were created by Markedric.

THE WHIRLINGS share fascinating new album “Earthshine” in full!

THE WHIRLINGS new album ‘Earthshine’ delivers beyond their trademark heavy psych and post-rock sound, offering a rich blend of sonic languages shaped through endless jams. Its force lays in intense and elegant buildups, involving the listener in a silky stargazing that progressively shifts to telluric, fuzz-laden soundscapes. Embark on this staunch, sidereal capsule, you will return changed.

PREMIERE: Earthshine – The Whirlings

Patriarchy Shares “I Don’t Want To Die” + Flaunt Mag Feature Exclusive

LA snuff metal outfit, Patriarchy, is back with a new single, titled “I Don’t Want To Die.” The video was premiered in an exclusive interview with Flaunt Magazine. The single can be found on their recently announced record, Asking For It. The debut LP is due out November 8th via DERO Arcade.

Emily Yacina announces new album, Remember the Silver – out Dec 6

Remember the Silver is the debut studio album by New York by-way-of Pennsylvania musician Emily Yacina. Written over the span of two years and recorded / co-produced with Eric Littmann (Julie Byrne, GABI, Yohuna) ‘Remember the Silver’ represents a fundamental shift in Yacina’s approach and method to bringing her songs into the world

R.E.M. releases “Let Me In” remix honoring the memory of Kurt Cobain ~ Monster 25th anniversary reissue out 11/1

R.E.M. have revealed a new mix of “Let Me In,” taken from the upcoming 25th anniversary reissue of Monster, due for release November 1st. Remixed by original Monster producer Scott Litt, “Let Me In” sees Michael Stipe’s original vocal transformed, bringing the nuances of his performance to the fore of the mix.

Sony Corporation, Music Industry Partners and Leading Artists Gather to Reveal a New Music Ecosystem with 360 Reality Audio

Sony Corporation today announced the upcoming commercial availability of 360 Reality Audio, an immersive audio experience utilizing object-based spatial audio technology. Beginning in late fall 2019, listeners in the United States, Europe and beyond can access approximately 1,000 songs in this brand-new format from artists such as Mark Ronson and Pharrell Williams through streaming services Amazon Music HD, Deezer, nugs.net and TIDAL.


Today dick clark productions, Tubefilter and YouTube announced the nominees for the 9th Annual Streamy Awards. The 2019 awards ceremony will take place at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, CA on Friday, December 13 and will stream live globally and exclusively on YouTube via YouTube.com/streamys.

From Lilly Singh to Gordon Ramsay, this year’s nominees include a wide range of established and emerging talent leveraging today’s digital platforms to entertain, educate, and inspire. As previously announced, the 9th Annual Streamy Awards will also further highlight the contributions of the global creator community with three international awards.

Katy J Pearson Shares New Track “Tonight” || Out Now On Heavenly Recordings

A hazy dusk falls on a crossroads somewhere between Gloucestershire and Bristol. A wooden signpost points in two directions: good ol’ fashioned country heartache to the left; effortless pop hooks to the right – and underneath, cross-legged on still-warm car bonnet, sits Katy J Pearson, strumming an acoustic guitar as she spins a tale of blossoming dancefloor romance.

keshi releases “right here” music video

in his emotional video for “right here,” keshi sings in a telephone booth, with the one that got away on the other line. isolated and vulnerable, keshi wears his heart on his sleeve, remaining static in an empty parking lot as he sings “if you need me i’ll be here… right here.” the beat is an easygoing blend of acoustic guitar and lo-fi trap, combined with keshi’s wistful vocals, making for an experience that will put you in your feelings. watch the video here.

G-Eazy New EP, Scary Nights, OUT FRIDAY

One day after releasing “I Wanna Rock” ft. Gunna, G-Eazy has announced a surprise EP, Scary Nights, dropping this Friday, 10/18 at 12am ET.

Scary Nights Tracklist:
01 “Scary Nights”
02 “I Wanna Rock” ft. Gunna, produced by Bio-1da
03 “Full Time Cappers” ft. French Montana & Money Bagg Yo
04 “Big Ben” ft. Preme
05 “KIDS” ft. Dex Lauper
06 “Hittin Licks”
07 “Demons & Angels” ft. Miguel & The Game
08 “A Very Strange Time”

French ambient producer Malibu premieres new song, debut EP due Nov 1 on UNO NYC/Joyful Noise

Malibu is 24-year-old Barbara Braccini. Born and raised in Pau, France, Malibu spent her formative years studying music theory and piano at conservatory, while also learning from her father who is a jazz pianist and oceanologist. Following a brief period living in Angola, Malibu returned to France for boarding school as a teen where she fell in love with 90’s synths and electronic dance music, eventually teaching herself to compose music with a midi keyboard and gear loaned from her dad. A lover of melody and reverb, Malibu’s music is an intimate expression created from strings, sampling and her own vocals. Malibu also hosts a monthly mix series, United in Flames, on Montreal’s n10.as.