@skopemag news for july 12, 2019 @ 9 am est

Hear “High Rise” the new single from Seattle shoegaze group somesurprises, courtesy of The Stranger!

Hear “High Rise” the new single from Seattle’s somesurprises // Their debut self-titled LP comes out Sept. 20th on Drawing Room Records!

“High Rise is a song about waking up in the middle of a freefall from a tall, glass building, forgetting how to look at new things for the first time, and the subtle difference between serene daydream and truly grounding yourself.”


Pops of color throughout the high-energy visual match the hard-hitting beats and pulsing power at the heart of the track. Bathed in bright neon lights, ¿IDK? MiR turns up with a tense and tight performance—doubled over with emotion as he spits raw fire into the microphone hunched towards the ground. This intensity remains intercut with visuals of him next to a grand piano and dancing in an abandoned warehouse.

THE GLASSPACK: Louisville, Kentucky-Based Psychedelic Punk Unit Return

Featuring core members, “Dirty” Dave Johnson (vocals, guitars), Brett “Cap’n” Holsclaw (mc, drums), and Nicholas Hall (guitars, keys), with Billy Lease (guitars, bass) and Rodney Roads (bass, guitar), the band feels it is once again time to jumpstart Louisville’s rock scene. For its return to the stage, THE GLASSPACK will play a special headlining show September 7th at Headliner’s Music Hall in their home city. Special guests include local acts Call Me Bronco, Sound Company, and Wiirmz. Additional performances will be announced in the weeks to come.

Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single “Black Sheep”

Cajun electronic/industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah very proudly announces the release of their new single, “Black Sheep.”

“Black Sheep” features the voice of Hart Fortenbery from the hit SyFy Channel show, “Deep South Paranormal.” Mixing and Mastering was done by Joe Haze (Lords of Acid) and artwork was done by Rob Walden Design.

Heron share supercharged title track “Sun Release”

Sun Release, Heron’s second full length album set for a July 19th release, sees members Ben Blick (guitar), Boyd Lewis (guitar), Eric Morelli (bass), and Nate Blick (drums) crafting a seamless musical narrative. With the instrumental ballads of their 2017 debut now a distant memory, the PA quartet clawed their way into new surroundings that are at once dark and visceral, broad and beautiful. Comprised of two guitars, bass, and drums, their bottomless sound is undeniably innovative, compelling, and cinematic.

PREMIERE: “Sun Release” by Heron

Pepper’s ‘Local Motion’ Hits Billboard at #1 Reggae Album

Standouts include the lead single “Warning” (Ft. Stick Figure) which has been hailed by industry magazine Billboard as this summer’s sound. Another album high light, “Brand New Day” reminds the listener that our days are what we make of them. Accompanied by a video release, “Brand New Day” features comedian Alex Farnham who shows how a series of unfortunate events can turn any disaster into a beautiful day.

New Music: Australian hip-hop duo REMI are back with their first single of 2019

Remi’s effortless flow on “5.A.M” sways in precise time to Sensible J’s organic and world-class production, the synonymous makings of a REMI release, multi-layered in both meaning and musicality. Crossing between punctuated raps and satin-like vocals from Remi, J follows with rolling percussion that crescendos to old-school R&B choruses sung by friend and collaborator Whosane. The pair perform in a method where both talents shine, their ease in collaboration a product of finessing their personal brand of hip-hop, soul and R&B across multiple releases and stages.

Biglemoi Share Takeaway-Style Video for “Permanent Vacation”

“New Orleans-based indie rock quintet Biglemoi – expertly comprised of George Elizondo, Violeta del Rio del Castillo, Matthew Bigelow, Jeremy Marx, and Jonathan Arceneaux – croon their way into your souls with their single “Permanent Vacation”. Today, they add a music video for that track to the world, and we couldn’t be more smitten. As they each enter the frame, there is a sense of excitement. We soon realize we will be getting a simple, beautifully-shot glimpse at their live performance tactics, and immediately we feel like we have been transported to our backyard with close friends.” – Imperfect Fifth

Kyan Palmer & nicopop. Drop Club-Ready Anthem “Coo Coo Juice”

Pop’s rising pair Kyan Palmer & nicopop. are continuing to roll out new music with the release of their brand new single, “Coo Coo Juice,” available on all streaming platforms today. Packed with groovy synths and high-energy vocals, “Coo Coo Juice” is the perfect party track to get the crowd up and moving.

Doe Paoro Shares New Single “Midnight Choir”, Listen Now

“Paoro’s voice is brighter and maybe more hopeful than Amy Winehouse’s smoking tang, but it channels that same drama.” – Stereogum

Bradley Arthur Maxwell Shares “Easy On Me” Video Via The 405 | Single Out Now Across DSPs

“With the release of ‘Easy On Me’, Canadian singer-songerwriter Bradley Arthur Maxwell immediately positioned himself as one of 2019’s most exciting new voices.” – The 405

Luke Combs extends massive “Beer Never Broke My Heart” fall tour

ACM, CMA and CMT Award-winning artist Luke Combs will extend his massive sold out “Beer Never Broke My Heart Tour” with five new dates including a second show added at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on December 12 due to popular demand after the first show sold out in just six minutes.

The additional dates also include stops at Los Angeles’ Greek Theatre, San Diego’s Pechanga Arena, San Antonio’s AT&T Center and Louisville’s KFC Yum! Center. Tickets will be available for verified fan pre-sale starting next Tuesday, July 16 at 10:00am local time with general on-sale following on Friday, July 19 at 10:00am local time.