@skopemag news for may 6, 2019 @ 8:30 am est

LUCY SPRAGGAN Releases “Today Was A Good Day”!

Last night, Lucy kicked off her sold-out headline UK tour in Inverness, which follows the recent announcement that she will be playing Glastonbury for a second time. Lucy is the only X Factor contestant ever to be asked to play Glastonbury – and now she will be returning for a second time on The Avalon Stage. Lucy played The Acoustic Stage to a completely full tent in 2017 and describes the performance as a ‘life changing show’. She kicks off her U.S tour on June 12th at NYC’s Mercury Lounge, and swings around the Eastern half of the States. U.S. dates below.

Buza & Eric Remy // Release new single “Bounce Back” Today

EDM artists Buza, Eric Remy, and Elle Vee release their new track “Bounce Back” today. The track drops a beat that will have audiences dancing and head-banging, whether it’s in the crowd at a music festival or in the privacy of their own home.

MARTYRDÖD Releases “Pharmacepticon” Lyric Video As Hexhammaren LP

Swedish crust punk/metal outfit MARTYRDÖD has issued a lyric video for “Pharmacepticon” as their seventh album, Hexhammaren, nears North America through Southern Lord. Preorders for the album have been issued, as the band’s impending US tour with Skeletonwitch approaches.

UK alt-singer Holly Henderson shares Britpop inspired new single and video “Loneliness”

Benedict Benjamin releases new album ‘Truant’

On second album Truant, Benedict Benjamin has turned to a more full band sound. Taking cues from the early sixties and the likes of the Everly Brothers, there’s also an urgency and grit to the instrumentation – sitting somewhere between The Velvet Underground and Tom Petty or more recent forbears such as Kevin Morby and Angel Olsen.

Seba Kaapstad drop intoxicating video for their new single “Don’t”

Ahead of their upcoming album, Thina, out May17th via Mello Music Group, Seba Kaapstad share their intoxicating new video for “Don’t” today with The 405. With this track, the group continues to captivate the audience, opening with glistening pianos and a head-bopping slap. Zoe Modiga then unleashes her sky-rattling voice, alternating between near-rapping and time-stopping, levitating multi-octave solos. The powerful sound that is Seba Kaapstad is one that can only derive from such a diverse group of artists.

V Blackburn releases new single “A$AP Rocky”

Premiering yesterday via Nashville Noise, the track flaunts V’s irresistible vocals laid over rollicking guitar licks and high-octane percussion, while the lyrics are sprinkled with hidden nods to the song’s namesake. “A$AP Rocky” is the second single released from the songstress’ forthcoming EP Public Figure, out June 28, 2019.

Exclusive Premiere: V Blackburn’s Flirty Track, ‘A$AP Rocky’

Ruben Releases Debut EP MELANCHOLIC Featuring Buzzing Song “Lay By Me,” OUT NOW

The Y Axes debut pop-rocker “Get Away” | New LP out June 7th

The track premiered via The Vinyl District where the band’s lead singer Alexi Rose Belchere detailed; “‘Get Away’ was our attempt at writing a fun banger, so naturally our intentions were self-sabotaged and I wound up writing lyrics about what happens when you stop suppressing emotions. The song talks about what we do to survive—turning up our headphones to block out thoughts, holding out for when everything gets better. Eventually, this either breaks us or get released when we stop ‘pretending everything is ok.”

TVD Premiere: The Y Axes, “Get Away”

POW! Share “Dream Decay” Video On Flood Magazine | New LP ‘Shift’ Out 5/10 On Castle Face Records

POW! has shared the video for their new single “Dream Decay” on Flood. Prior to this, the band shared the track “Here It Comes”. The band recently announced their new LP Shift and shared the first single “Disobey” on BrooklynVegan. The LP will be out 5/10 on Castle Face Records.

Young Thug’s Artist, Strick Drops Video “The Loop”    

Young Thug’s right hand man and artist, Strick returns with his latest music video “The Loop” from his EP, See You When I Land, available on all streaming platforms with appearances from Gunna, Young Thug, and Duke.

OTF’s Booka600 Recruits Lil Durk & Lil Zay Osama for a Melodic Street Anthem

Stickup Kid’s First New Full-Length In Six Years ‘Soul Drive’ Out Today

San Jose rock band Stickup Kid has announced a string of west coast tour dates in support of their just released new LP ‘Soul Drive.’

INTERVIEW: Stickup Kid are letting their souls drive this time

LUNE’s apricot-tinged tones blaze and dazzle on electropop-bop ‘Don’t Speak’      

Linnéa Martinsson is the vocalist behind Swedish House Mafia’s “Leave The World Behind”, and has also collaborated with renowned dance-pop producer Adrian Lux, though she has now started her own label Play Human through which she now self-releases without hindering her creativity.

Polish Alternative Metal Group ARSHENIC Joins Sliptrick

Arshenic is a rock/metal band from Poland. The music of Arshenic is inspired by such trends as art rock, alternative metal, progressive rock, goth metal, melodic metal and dark rock. The name of the band is a reference to arsenic, which is a poison and also a cure. That duality can be easily heard in the group’s songs. A strong female charismatic image is the calling card of the band and the sound is mainly defined by the various types of female vocals, both singing and screaming, clean and distorted guitars, diverse bass parts and dynamic drum playing with a little flavour of electronics, cellos and orchestral sounds in the background. Arshenic’s lyrics cover topics like individualism, self-expression and inner emotional states and are written mostly in a dark poetic manner.


GLAAD, the world’s largest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) media advocacy organization, announced recipients for the remaining 13 of this year’s 27 categories for the 30th Annual GLAAD Media Awards. Madonna received the Advocate for Change Award from Anderson Cooper, while Andy Cohen received the Vito Russo Award from Golden Globe-winning actress Sarah Jessica Parker at the star-studded ceremony at the Hilton Midtown in New York. The 30th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York were hosted by drag superstar Shangela.

The Chris Rolling Squad – New album + video – “Back on the horse again”


Infectious alternative quintet Violet Nine explodes with a powerful and enthralling video for the formation’s brand new single – the astounding “Miles Away”.

Edan H: Release Single/Lyric Video ‘Down in Flames’

Back to Eden guitarist/bassist/songwriter Edan Hoy has returned, this time under the moniker of Edan H.


Following the release of For The Throne (Music Inspired by the HBO Series Game of Thrones), Columbia Records and HBO® have unveiled the highly-anticipated official music video for the album’s lead single “Power Is Power” by SZA, The Weeknd and Travis Scott. The epic visual was directed by Anthony Mandler and shot in Los Angeles. “We’re taking established artists and pulling them into the Game of Thrones world,” says Mandler. “The show establishes all these different kingdoms and worlds. What I want to do is integrate the color palettes of winter, the warmer tones and match that with today’s biggest stars.” The inspired-by album honors the global hit series’ final season and was executive produced by Grammy-nominated producer Ricky Reed, along with the show creators D. B. Weiss, & David Benioff. See the album’s full track list below.