@skopemag news for April 11, 2019 @ 9 am est

Toro Y Moi collaborator Instupendo announces ‘Boys & Girls’ EP

Instupendo, aka Aidan Peterson, floats into earshot with original euphorically melancholy songs that listeners say they turn to when they feel, or want to feel, a particular way. Having steadily attracted fans since he was a preteen via Soundcloud, his music is emotional, therapeutic, and nostalgic. And more recently, he’s collaborated with Toro Y Moi and Rostam, two stylistic counterpoints in his orbit.

Nocturnal Sunshine shares “Radiate” via Adult Swim Singles

Adult Swim Singles have teamed with Nocturnal Sunshine for the 34th installment of the current program. “Radiate” follows last November’s “Foundation/Heroes” EP, which was the first new music in years from Nocturnal Sunshine, the bass-driven alias of Maya Jane Coles. Renowned for her multifaceted approach to music, Coles is involved in every aspect of her releases, often writing, producing, engineering, arranging, mixing, performing every element, and, on many occasions, even designing the sleeve artwork. A sophomore album from Nocturnal Sunshine is anticipated in 2019, in addition to performances at Coachella, Sonar, and Field Day.

Caswell addresses her destructive formative relationships on ‘Stay The Night’

New single here from neo-soul soloist Caswell – ‘Stay The Night’ as focus single for her sophomore EP ‘Blindside’


ASOMVEL debut blazing rock’n’roll anthem off “World Shaker” album now!

UK’s rock’n’roll warlords ASOMVEL have recently announced their long-awaited return, with a new album on Heavy Psych Sounds Records. The frantic trio is premiering a brand new song off ‘World Shaker’ via Metal Injection right now.

MÖTORHEAD Worshippers ASOMVEL Debut New Song “Every Dog Has Its Day”

FRENSHIP “Remind You” How Funny They Are in New Video

Platinum-selling duo FRENSHIP, who frequently collaborate with Bastille and Yoke Lore, just released a hilarious new video for their recent single, “Remind You.”

VAURA: Revolver Debuts Scott Walker-Inspired Track From Avant/Post-Metal Collective

Revolver is currently streaming “Basilisk – The Infinite Corpse” from Brooklyn, New York-based avant/post-metal collective VAURA. The Scott Walker-inspired new tune comes by way of the band’s impending Sables full-length, slated to drop via Profound Lore later this month.

Mexico City Blondes Premiere New Single “Reasons Why” With Ladygunn

In preparation for the release of their debut album Blush on May 3, Mexico City Blondes have released their newest single “Reasons Why.” Premiering today on Ladygunn, “Reasons Why,” an upbeat, trip-hop-inspired track, is available for play on all major streaming platforms now.

Craig’s Brother to Release First New Recorded Music In Nearly A Decade

Indie Vision Music is proud to present the long-awaited new EP from much loved melodic punk band, Craig’s Brother. These 5 songs are some of the most energetic and passionate songs the band has ever done, with a real sense of urgency. If you dig current and past material from a variety of melodic punk bands like No Use For a Name, Bad Religion, Much The Same, MUTE, Lagwagon, A Wilhelm Scream, and even Rise Against, then you’ll instantly be a fan of this. Songs of hope, searching for meaning, questioning, and that political fire starter (Maintaining Destiny) all rolled up into one incredible release from start to finish.

Jong SL’s tranquil and melodic “Paralyzed”

“Lyrically, it’s the struggle of the inner-self trying to escape the feeling of entrapment,” Jong SL says. “In the last chorus, the listener is given hope as the song resolves.”


“SOS (Feat. Aloe Blacc)”, the first track to be released from the upcoming Avicii album TIM, is out today. Sleek and modern, the song is built on Aloe Blacc’s soaring voice and a dually spare and brightly layered pop production from Tim Bergling, Albin Nedler and Kristoffer Fogelmark.

LIZZY BORDEN Announces North American Summer Tour With Demons & Wizards And Týr

LIZZY BORDEN will support power metal veterans Demons & Wizards on a North American tour this summer. Set to commence on August 17th in Los Angeles California, the trek will wind its way through twelve cities and come to a close September 5th in New York City. Additional support will be provided by folk metal labelmates Týr. See all confirmed dates below.

LIZZY BORDEN w/ Demons & Wizards, Týr:
8/17/2019 Wiltern – Los Angeles, CA
8/20/2019 Showbox SODO – Seattle, WA
8/21/2019 The Commodore – Vancouver, BC
8/22/2019 Roseland – Portland, OR
8/24/2019 Summit Theater – Denver, CO
8/26/2019 Gas Monkey Live – Dallas, TX
8/28/2019 Concord Music Hall – Chicago, IL
8/29/2019 Skyway Theater – Minneapolis, MN
8/31/2019 Danforth Music Hall – Toronto, ON
9/01/2019 Corona – Montreal, QC
9/04/2019 The Palladium – Worcester, MA
9/05/2019 Playstation Theater – New York, NY


‘Real Estate Sale’ by WILLIS


Carlos Xavier is proud to announce the release of his debut album Viva Todo Ahora featuring nine songs that embody the rich history and diverse nature of Salsa music, but with Carlos’ unique take on the genre he loves. From first listen, you can tell Carlos has created an album that will stand the test of time in the same caliber of artists that he was influenced by including Marc Anthony, DLG, Frankie Negron, Luis Enrique, and Michael Stuart. The album is available now through all streaming platforms with a physical CD release due on April 26, 2019.