@skopemag news – monday – august 24, 2020 @ 1 pm est

@skopemag HQ – http://smarturl.it/skope

UNLEASH THE ARCHERS Releases Music Video for Triumphant New Track “Faster Than Light”

Canadian melodic power metal quartet UNLEASH THE ARCHERS just dropped their masterful fifth full-length concept album, Abyss, via Napalm Records last Friday, followed by a searing virtual concert performance from The Rickshaw Theatre in Vancouver, BC on Saturday!

Today, in celebration of the album’s release, the band has unveiled yet another wild music video, this time for their triumphant new burner “Faster Than Light”. In the tongue-in-cheek video, the members of UNLEASH THE ARCHERS take part in a competitive footrace, but are met with unexpected twists along the way!

Toronto Composer & Percussionist Joshua Van Tassel Releases Video For “Muttering Spells”

Here’s a quote from Josh on the track: “Muttering Spells” is about attempting to do something seemingly impossible, dangerous, and that you can’t do alone. You ask for help in the wrong place and in the wrong way, and then are faced with something that comes to help you which is more impossible and dangerous than the situation itself. You persist, and your original intention is warped and changed to the will of the other.

CARNATION Shares New Single, “Where Death Lies”

Frontman Simon Duson comments: “Our third single for the upcoming ‘Where Death Lies’ album is none other than the title track. If you’ve been looking for thrashy hooks and groovy beats, look no further! This track is a fast one, but it switches gear right when the punishing chorus hits. It contains what we consider the catchiest chorus on the album, and we simply can’t wait to start performing this one live. The lyric video was made by Aimed & Framed, and it showcases the beautiful artwork that master Juanjo Castellano has once again created for us.”

Benjamin Gordon announces ‘Live Sessions EP’

Benjamin Gordon has announced the release of the brand new LIVE SESSIONS EP. The EP will be accompanied by videos for each of the three tracks, which were produced by Emile Rafael and have captured Benjamin’s ethereal downtempo electronic show with a stunning 30-piece gospel choir recorded at a haunting church in his Brighton hometown. You can watch the first video for ‘Take Me Home’ here.


Multi-hyphenate social media mogul Gavin Magnus released his brand new EP entitled Broken via Columbia Records’ imprint Jam Jr. The EP features two covers as well as an original song “Hearts on a Pendant,” which Gavin co-wrote with Andrew Lane, Alexander Parsegov and Miguel Palmero –

For Belarus – International musicians release album in support of Belarus revolution

The events currently unfolding in Belarus are terrifying and, perhaps, miraculous.

Terrifying because the illegitimate president Aleksandr Lukashenko, known as “Europe’s last dictator”, is waging a war against his citizens in plain sight – his forces are beating, torturing, and killing peaceful protesters who are fighting for their right to honest, transparent elections. Thousands are currently imprisoned and about seventy people are still missing.

Anna Wolf and The Stereophonics drummer Pop Morrison – “The Unfamiliar” new horror movie title track

With its fey atmospherics and ethereal performances, there’s a fairytale quality about ‘The Unfamiliar.’ The accompanying video shows Anna Wolf and Pop Morrison performing, interspersed with clips from the film, appearing like spectral presences outside the narrative. Anna’s voice here recalls the otherworldly aesthetics of Kate Bush and Joanna Newsom as the track plays around with the dynamics of loud and quiet, bright and dark, with subtle layered intricacy. Pop Morrison’s production is replete with screaming banshee guitar leads and hauntingly mixed reverberating backing vocals. The sum of all this is a haunting and memorable performance that finds beauty amidst the occult psychodrama of the film.

SONS OF OTIS: new album ‘Isolation’ announced on Totem Cat Records!

Toronto’s doom blues legends SONS OF OTIS return from their smoke-filled lands with their first studio album since 2012. ‘Isolation’ will be released on October 16th via Totem Cat Records, and you can stream its crushing first single “Ghost” right now!


Today, Nigerian-born singer/songwriter Tiwa Savage shares her new single “Temptation,” featuring multi-GRAMMY Award-winning pop phenomenon Sam Smith. Released via Motown Records, “Temptation” is the latest single from Savage’s highly anticipated fourth studio album Celia, due out this Friday. The track is written by Tiwa Savage, Sam Smith, and Fireboy DML. It was recorded in Lagos, Nigeria and is produced by London.

Westberg Releases “Nostalgia” Single August 24

“Westberg,” the Gen X duo of Ariel Westberg and Scott Bruzenak (aka Noisecastle III) announce the upcoming single, “Nostalgia” due out August 24. The single represents a dusty tale of isolation in the middle of Los Angeles, the backdrop for the midlife crisis that unfolds within the rest of their EP. The EP, Boomer Studies is due for release on September 18.

Epic Live Performance of “AYER” by Vanessa Zamora

Since “AYER” was released, the dreamy and emotional bass-infused track has been well-received and garnered media support from Rolling Stone, Remezcla, Órale Mag, and Billboard, among others.

Alternative Metal Band, ALBORN, Sign Distribution Deal with Imagen Records

Alternative metal band, ALBORN, have signed a distribution deal with Imagen Records (ADA, Warner Music). Their debut EP Impairative will release on August 28, 2020.

“When the opportunity opened up for me to sign Alborn to Imagen, I jumped on it. I’ve known these guys for years and have worked closely with them. The songwriting is so unique to me. It’s fresh and not predictable. I think people will get so much out of what this band has to say,” says Imagen Records’ A&R Representative Morgan Rose.