New Sudan Archives track / video – ‘Glorious’

Violinist, singer, songwriter, and producer Sudan Archives has released a new single and video for “Glorious,” the second single from her debut full-length album Athena, out November 1st on Stones Throw.

Following “Confessions,” the first single from Athena, “Glorious”, co-produced by Wilma Archer, builds on the album’s overarching theme of duality and features a verse from rapper D-Eight, who like Sudan originally hails from Cincinnati, Ohio. Mirror shots play with the theme of reflection and contrast, and Sudan’s own pet snake makes a cameo. She describes the snake as a “visual theme” for Athena: “He’s so sweet and cute, and he doesn’t want to hurt anybody, but everyone is afraid of him. I deal with that – men have told me, ‘You look intimidating’. Or someone will be like, ‘Smile!’ But I’m totally non-intimidating when you get to know me, I’m actually shy.”

5 November – Los Angeles, CA -Moroccan Lounge
7 November – New York, NY -Public Records
9 November – Utrecht, NL – Le Guess Who? Festival
10 November – Brussels, BE – AB Club
12 November – Berlin, DE – Säalchen
13 November – Cologne, DE – CBE
14 November – Munich, DE – Rote Sonne
15 November – Geneva, CH – Festival Les Créatives
16 November – Paris, FR – Le Badaboum
18 November: London, Rough Trade East (instore)
19 November – London, UK – Corsica Studios – SOLD OUT
20 November – Stockholm, SE – Kraken
21 November – Gothenburg, SE – Oceanen
22 November: Montpellier, France – Le Zenith de Montpellier, Les Nuits Zébrées de Radio Nova