@skopemag news for September 23, 2019 @ 10 am est

PARALLEL MOTION Releases Official Music Video for “Illogical”

Hard Rock Band PARALLEL MOTION has released the official music video for their single, “Illogical,” the title track off of their debut EP.

“To some people battling against anxiety might be an illogical story. But for those who live it, it’s a frightening experience. It’s a never-ending battle but music helps us take a message of hope to those in need.”

Vevo presents DDG live performance for Ctrl series

Vevo’s Ctrl series highlights the work of hard-hitting, cutting-edge musicians making an impact in today’s music scene – both emerging and established. These artists demand attention, and Vevo’s Ctrl shines a deserving spotlight. Shot in Vevo’s Brooklyn studio, DDG’s performance follow sessions from Rick Ross, Common, Rapsody, Burna Boy, A$AP Ferg and more.

Latin Artist Obregon Drops “Tú” Track and Video

Obregon — the rising 21-year-old vocalist, record producer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist hailing from Caracas, Venezuela — today releases his latest single and music video for “Tú” available across all digital streaming platforms now via RED MUSIC. Known for his awareness of electronic music and ability to effortlessly mix it with his Latin roots, Obregon collaborated with the acclaimed producer Daneon–known for writing and producing the massive hit “Esta Rico” featuring Bad Bunny, Marc Anthony, and Will Smith–on his latest single that charted on Spotify’s New Music Friday Latin global playlist and is an ode to both the tropical and electronic inspirations in Obregon’s music.

ODDFELLAS Release Self-Titled, Debut EP

Pampa, TX Alternative Rock Band ODDFELLAS has released the official music video for “Walk on By.” Recorded at Fort Worth Sound With Bart Rose, “Walk on By” is the second single off of their self-titled EP, out now via Pavement Entertainment.

BEST EX Releases “Bad Love”

“Honestly, my entire life, I’ve wondered who the heck is the type of person that drinks cocktails at hotels in Manhattan. Yet, I somehow found myself there, stirring the ice in my $20 cocktail and thinking about why I’m always following the type of love that I know is going to hurt me,” introspectively admits Mariel Loveland of NYC-based indiepop band BEST EX, about her latest single “Bad Love” (purchase/stream here). Set for release today September 19, 2019, “Bad Love” is a melancholic, dark pop song that revels in minor keys while Loveland’s clear and emotive vocals tell the universal story of poor decisions turning into bad love.

New > Saul Williams > shares video “Dare” > vinyl release date of new record “Encrypted & Vulnerable”

Today Saul Williams released his video for “Dare” — taken from Williams’ album Encrypted & Vulnerable (out now via Pirates Blend), Complex called the song “a cacophonous whirlwind of distorted noise and industrial rhythms, held together by the rapper, actor, author and poet’s free-flowing, spoken word style.” A limited vinyl release of Encrypted & Vulnerable was also announced today, preorder HERE.


UK female alternative rock band, THE KUT, has announced her October ‘Rock Decadium Tour 2019’. Featuring 10 UK dates, celebrating 10 years of independent music and the Top 10 Debut Album. ‘Valley of Thorns’ was produced by James LeRock Loughrey, and was released on The Kut’s Criminal Records label via Cargo Records. The album smashed in at No. 7 in the UK Rock Albums Chart and No. 18 in the Independent Albums Chart, while 3 tracks simultaneously landed in the UK Songwriting Contest Finals and Semi-Finals.


16 WED – Moles, BATH
18 FRI – O’Rileys, HULL w/Cult Fiction (Cult Tribute)
19 SAT – Trillians, NEWCASTLE w/Pearl Jam GB
20 SUN – Bannermans, EDINBURGH
22 TUE – The Waterloo, BLACKPOOL
24 THUR – Dark Horse, BIRMINGHAM
25 FRI – The Moon, CARDIFF
27 SUN – The Lounge at Klub Kollis, LONDON

for Skope: Eptic’s “Flesh & Blood” EP incl. a collab with Dillon Francis (out on Monstercat)

Bass maestro Eptic debuts the full-length version of his highly anticipated “Flesh & Blood” EP on Monstercat, featuring three brand new tracks brimming with dark, driving and ominous sounds of electronic music’s heaviest genres. After releasing “Let it Go” with Dillon Francis and “Power” earlier this summer, Eptic finishes the EP strong with “Violence,” “Beyond the Stars,” and “Undefeated.” The distorted vocal snippets from news reports set the nefarious tone for “Violence” even before the track breaks down into grinding, serrating bass, consisting of one of the harder tracks on the EP. “Beyond the Stars” feels otherworldly with its video game-inspired sound effects and dreamy riffs, while “Undefeated” is Eptic’s final and jarring crescendo in this sonic journey. All five tracks of “Flesh & Blood” are hybrid monsters of dubstep, trap, bass and electro, representative of Eptic’s dynamic and unique sound. Read on below for additional insight into this very personal project:

Erin Enderlin Announces “Faulkner County” Set for November 1 Release

Erin Enderlin ups the creative ante with the unveiling of Faulkner County, her highly anticipated full-length album, due for release on November 1. Produced by Jamey Johnson and Jim “Moose” Brown, the 14-track collection is an intimate ramble through lonely corners in barrooms and bedrooms, where strength in the face of shame, longings that may never stop, and past lives hang around like old friends.

Each of the songs from Enderlin’s acclaimed 2019 digital EPs are included on the album, along with two brand new tracks: the aching “Hell Coming Down” and carpe diem-invoking “Run, Baby, Run.” Also of note here to Enderlin’s loyal fan base is the full band version of her largely-acoustic 2018 single “These Boots,” produced by Alex Kline, who also co-produced the album’s “Use Me Again” with Enderlin. Among the special guests to appear on the album are Vince Gill, Alison Krauss, Terri Clark and Cody Jinks, who pour harmonies and soul into the collection, like a gathering of friends making music together for the sheer joy of it.

Andrew Combs To Release “Ideal Man” Tomorrow – Rolling Stone Country Premieres Full Album Today

Andrew Combs is set to release Ideal Man tomorrow via New West Records. The 11-song set was produced by Sam Cohen (Kevin Morby, Benjamin Booker). Captured live in Cohen’s Brooklyn studio, Ideal Man also features Combs’ longtime collaborators, Drummer Dom Billet and guitarist/keyboardist/bassist Jerry Bernhardt.

Nashville Songwriter Andrew Combs Refuses to Settle on New Album ‘Ideal Man’

Watch MIMICO’s new “Common Tar” video via Exclaim!

MIMICO is an interstellar trio formed in Toronto in 2011 comprised of Ben Oginz, Jeremiah Knight, and Nick Kervin. Named for a Toronto suburb, they traffic in an expansive brand of psychedelic, synth driven post-rock. Their forthcoming record, Hi-Action, combines the influences of film music and prog with a homegrown Sci-Fi mysticism.

Green Buzzard announces debut album, shares introspective new indie-rock single + video ‘To Be Like You’

The project of Sydney-based singer and guitarist Paddy Harrowsmith – Green Buzzard’s new single ‘To Be Like You’ dials back the distortion heard in previous incarnations of the project, in favour of a new found clarity and directness. Ceaselessly energetic, the tracks instrumentation pushes the music forward but it’s Harrowsmith’s vocals which take centre stage.