#weekend edition – @skopemag news for august 11, 2019 @ 11 am est

@skopemag APP – Apple iTunes –

@skopemag APP – Google / Android –


With a debut album almost in sight on the horizon, Soleima continues to spread her wings while her tracks escape easy genre classification. She crafts “political pop” with avant-garde productions and relatable lyrical themes, which simultaneously explore societal issues and the very meaning of what it is to be human.

RJMrLA Speaks His Truth on Star-Studded Debut Album On God

“The Los Angeles rapper first captured his city with a slew of local hits—the biggest being his 2015 single “Get Rich”—that proved his mettle without a major label or blog cosigns. Now, with steady assists from his 400 Summers label heads YG and DJ Mustard he uses MrLA to expand his sound, replacing some of the street-acclaimed grittiness of his O.M.M.I.O. mixtapes with radio-ready selections.” – Pitchfork

Having Been Tipped as ‘The Future of British Asian Hip-Hop’ by BBC Asian Network, Hyphen Returns with Summer Anthem ‘Ice Cold’

Having been tipped as ‘The Future of British Asian Hip-Hop’ by BBC Asian Network, received support from London Evening Standard, GRM Daily and a slot at Reading and Leeds Festival, alternative Hip-Hop artist Hyphen returns with summer anthem ’Ice Cold’ August 9th.

Having Been Tipped as ‘The Future of British Asian Hip-Hop’ by BBC Asian Network, Hyphen Returns with Summer Anthem ‘Ice Cold’

New York City based Young Thieves Sign with InVogue Records

New York City-based Young Thieves have signed with InVogue Records.

The band’s debut single “Skinny Dip” will be out on August 16, 2019.

Young Thieves EP is slated for a fall release and is produced by Matt Squire (Panic! at the Disco, Ariana Grande, Katy Perry). The EP is full of pop anthems that will be stuck in your head from first listen.

Nick Valensi and CRX Release ‘Get Close.’ New Album ‘PEEK’ Coming August 23

As CRX gear up for their sophomore album release of Peek on August 23, the Los Angeles based, Nick Valensi fronted five-piece have released another new track today titled ‘Get Close.’ The song follows previous releases from Peek, including the hypnotic Bowie-esque ‘We’re All Alone’ and infectious ‘Falling,’ and comes just weeks before Peek sees its global release on all digital platforms on August 23. Pre-order Peek HERE.


Today, Multi Platinum recording artist Fetty Wap releases his new single “Zoo” featuring Detroit rapper Tee Grizzley – WATCH HERE. Powered by hard-hitting production, the track finds the perfect balance between Fetty’s rich vocals and Grizzley’s calibrated wordplay. Directed by Jon J, the video paints a gory scene as the two artists stylistically exchange verses.

Johnny Stimson Entitled ‘IDWLY’ – Vibrant Electro Single // Elton John Discovered

Life isn’t about simply taking risks. It’s really about choosing the right risk. You could say that pop singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Johnny Stimson chose rather wisely.

Don McLean To Be Featured In All New AXS TV Music Series ‘MIXTAPE’

AXS TV presents MIXTAPE, a new music series where the biggest names in rock discuss their most meaningful music influences, favorite songs of all time & more, premiering Thursday, Sept. 12 at 8:30 pm ET.

McLean, who appears on the Oct. 3 episode, recalls the genius of Buddy Holly, and delivers a soulful performance of his signature hit “American Pie”

‘Mixtape’ Series Lets Rock Legends Relate Their Personal Favorite Songs Via AXS TV

Skope Magazine // ieuan – “VIRTUAL REALITY” (New Single)

ieuan wrote this song in 30 minutes with producer Phil Cook (Little Mix, Olly Murs), and shares, “The song is about how everyone has their own sort of virtual reality – a disconnect from their real lives. The song hints at being ignored in your every day life. You go into a virtual reality where no one lies to you, everyone likes you, and you’re not crazy.

RottenDawn: Invisible Oranges streaming “Dawn Dwellers” by the doom/death act featuring members of Imapled Nazarene, Abhorrence & Unholy

RottenDawn’s debut album, Occult, comes on Saturnal Records this September 06th on CD and digital formats. Formed by the current and the former members of Imapled Nazarene, Abhorrence and Unholy, the Helsinki based RottenDawn plays dark, harmonic doom and death metal.

Invisible Oranges put down the 4th track “Dawn Dwellers” off the album, which they are currently streaming exclusively, as “a gargantuan monument to the obscure and the esoteric.”

Monograms Share “Sounds Like Mean Spirit” Single, New LP ‘Living Wire’ Out 9/20 Via PaperCup Music

The largest looming concept behind this album and the songs written on Living Wire is about the current state of creativity and the controlled environment that we exist within – a not so subtle jab at the state of technology and the constant noise that revolves around us, within social media, moderne life and everywhere – a buzzing choir, a living wire. With all the distractions, pop ups, influencers and stimuli in modern life, it can prove difficult to quiet that noise and focus on what you want to make. Additionally, A “live wire” is a person or object with so much energy that it becomes completely unpredictable or combustable, and the connotation is very polarizing: positive or negative, but either way overwhelming. Jacobs sees himself as one of these types. It’s hard for him to sit still and that’s not always a good or bad thing, but therein lies the challenge: quieting the noise long enough to create something, in this case, a record, that is based on his own reflections.

mxdwn PREMIERE: Monograms’ “Sounds Like Mean Spirit” Looks Back at the Creative Landscape of Previous Decades


“It was in a basement in high school that we sat and dreamed of not only one day being a signed band but being a part of the label that housed our favorite artists – Island. Words can’t describe how excited and humbled we are to now be a part of the Island family.” – PUBLIC


“Endeavoring to create dynamic songwriting while never sacrificing relentlessness — both in terms of pace and tone — is one of Vitriol’s creative north stars. I feel that we accomplished that in a special way with Crowned in Retaliation. It does a very good job of showing you the face of To Bathe from the Throat of Cowardice,” states Kyle Rasmussen.

DEATH BY FUNGI: Indian Hardcore/Mathcore pioneers release latest EP

Death By Fungi is a Mumbai based hardcore act that takes inspiration from different styles of mathcore, metallic hardcore, d-beat, and other hardcore subgenres. They have been around since 2013 and are considered one of the pioneers of the Bombay Hardcore scene, through several EP’s and splits. Their latest EP ‘Die in Bombay’ is out as of today, streaming on PureGrainAudio.


We are happy to announce that a new track called Lamb & the Wolf! It’s a sweltering summer jam to funk to. It’s a whole new set of colors for us; yellow, orange, red and green mostly. There’s something kind of early Sesame Street about it but you can dig for yourself. Get on your sweat bands and prepare for some high kicks and karate chops or least loud claps. We hope you enjoy. Love, CocoRosie


After digging deep into his R&B roots with the release of his new track, “The Lay Down (Feat. H.E.R. & watt),” multiple Grammy Award-nominated singer/songwriter DRAM dropped an accompanying music video today for the soulful new single. The mesmerizing new video was directed by Aisultan Seitov, whose direction credits include videos for Offset and 21 Savage.