weekend edition – @skopemag news for july 28, 2019 @ 5:30 am est

@skopemag APP – Apple iTunes –

@skopemag APP – Google / Android –

Black Milk Envisions a “Black NASA” on a Soulful New Single

“As the performance soared into a free-form jam, it was apparent that Mr. Cross and the band had succeeded in pushing the music far from the boundaries of any single genre.” – Wall Street Journal

TENTS Announce New LP ‘Medicine’, Share Title Track | LP Out 10/11 On Badman Recording Co.

“TENTS offer up neighborhood nostalgia with a slant. Melancholy is a theme, both musically and lyrically, but the music doesn’t dwell on pain. Thick harmonies and bouncy grooves float the listener towards joy.” – The Big Takeover

VAGRANT: German epic melodeath group release ‘The Rise of Norn’ debut album via Black Lion Records

Hameln based epic melodic death metal act VAGRANT has released their debut album The Rise of Norn today via Black Lion Records on CD (as well as digitally).

VAGRANT’s debut, The Rise of Norn, contains 06 magnificently crafted epic melody driven extreme metal tunes. Composed by Stanley Robertson, the songs stand out through unique versatility enhanced by Dragnier´s rough singing style only to be completed by Arnaud’s smooth bass play and backing vocals. The lyrics pierce the tissue of shallowness in order to reveal a fragile, vulnerable core.

Only Sun – Share Sun-Soaked New Video For Summertime Hit “It’ll Be Alright”

Matching the vibrancy of their latest summer smash with fittingly blue-sky visuals, the new video is a technicolour whirlwind of fun and optimism that washes down as palatably as Pimms at Wimbledon.

Trisha Yearwood Reveals New Song “Workin’ On Whiskey”

As the history-making lead single “Every Girl In This Town” continues to heat up airwaves and streaming platforms , three-time GRAMMY® Award-winning country superstar Trisha Yearwood reveals a new track, “Workin’ On Whiskey,” from her highly anticipated upcoming album, Every Girl. “Workin’ On Whiskey” is now available as an instant grat track via digital service providers ahead of the album’s release on Friday, August 30, 2019.

Trisha Yearwood reveals ‘Workin on Whiskey’


“An instantly catchy chorus — the vocals sound refined enough to be taken for an industry mainstay” – Billboard

“A bubbling swaying number…the artist displays a mature grasp and sense of self-awareness when it comes to relationships and her own emotions” – Consequence of Sound

MOTHER SUN releases the first single off of their upcoming album

Single from ‘Caramel Clouds’ out August 23rd, 2019.

James Levy announces new LP ‘Somebody” out Sept 13 and shares new single “Tootie” via The Boot

“Tootie” is the latest single from James Levy’s album Somebody, which will be released on September 13, 2019 (track listing below) by Innit Recordings/The Orchard. The track was produced by Paul Defiglia (Avett Brothers) and recorded in Nashville with local musicians, including Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson).

O.A.R.’s “Knocking At Your Door” Video :: Fall Tour Dates Announced

Multi-platinum chart-topping band O.A.R. has released the official music video for their hit single “Knocking At Your Door,” out now via RED MUSIC. The heartfelt video, directed by Gregory Berg, showcases the band’s dedication to giving back to those in need and features numerous charities associated with the band including DC Central Kitchen, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Tomahawk Charitable Solutions, and Garden of Dreams.

Acclaimed DJ/producer/director Sam Spiegel premieres “Wishin'” feat. Bipolar Sunshine with video featuring Nick Kroll + Johnny Knoxville via FLOOD

“[Sam Spiegel is] so versatile in artistic craft and talent that every project reaches across mediums and performs exemplary in its given realm.”—Flaunt


Multi-platinum singer-songwriter Ross Golan has released the concept album for the multifaceted musical project, The Wrong Man via Interscope Records. The album is available at all major digital retailers and can be found here.


“Ladies and gentleme, we give you ‘Layers Of Time’! We are so excited that our first new music from Black Anima is finally out. ‘Layers of Time’ will hit you hard – and it’s just a taste of what’s to come… Enjoy!” states Lacuna Coil frontwoman Cristina Scabbia.

Burn It All Down: THE AGONIST Unleash Brand New Video!

September 20, 2019 will see Canada’s finest extreme metal export, The Agonist, release their brand new album, “Orphans,” with Rodeostar Records. More extreme, more melodic, more exciting and larger than life sounds: On their sixth studio record, The Agonist are unleashing a true monster feeding on melodic death metal and almost rocking moments. In between beautifully anthemic metal sound walls, pounding grooves and fierce riffs, charismatic front vocalist Vicky Psarakis showcases her impressive range that covers everything from rock diva all the way to sick death metal growls. The result is a flickering, iridescent and varied masterpiece nestled in between sheer brutality and melodic frailty – simply incomparable!

E-40 Drops Practice Makes Paper, His 29th Studio Album

“Whoever you are, and whatever your low-grade malaise, E-40 is here to banish it. The Bay Area rap forefather is a human exclamation point, a superhero whose power is remaining helplessly in love with his work. E-40 works harder and more joyfully at making great rap music than you or I have ever worked on anything” – Pitchfork

Eduoard Releases Upbeat Summertime Single, “Deja Vu”

“I would certainly hope that listeners will shake their heads and stomp their feet to the beat. Hopefully they will get an energy boost from it” – Edouard

First Listen: Edouard – Deja Vu (ft. Weezmen)

FW: For Skope: Valentino Khan & Wuki release house single “Better” (out on Mad Decent)

Just a friendly reminder about Valentino Khan & Wuki’s house-oriented single “Better”, which just dropped on Mad Decent. It follow’s Valentno’s “JustYourSoul” with Diplo, released 2 weeks ago. Both tracks are part of Valentino Khan’s forthcoming “House Party” EP.


Skizzy Mars has released his latest album, Free Skizzy Mars. Heralded by singles “No Advice” and “Calabasas,” Free Skizzy Mars is available now at all DSPs and streaming services. Skizzy recently sat down with Travis Mills in a Beats1 interview to discuss the album. Also released today is the companion video for “Calabasas.”