@skopemag news for July 9, 2019 @ 10:15 am est

SILVERTUNG Announce New Tour Dates

Silvertung have announced initial tour dates in support of their fifth album (But, At What Cost??!). Tickets are now on sale at silvertung.com/tour.

Madison Cunningham ‘Who Are You Now’ LP out August 16 via Verve Forecast

“Poised and precise in her singing and ace guitar playing… Madison Cunningham might not conjure a comparison to Fiona Apple on first listen, but…with [her] wonderfully tangled imagery and cutting self-awareness, shows she’s an heir to that queen’s powerful throne.” — NPR Music

TENEBRAE IN PERPETUUM Discloses Details For Anorexia Obscura

After a decade of silence, Italian black metal outfit TENEBRAE IN PERPETUUM returns with their fourth full-length opus, Anorexia Obscura. With the album now confirmed for release on August 30th via Debemur Morti Productions, the lead single and opening track “Dissonanze Mentali” has been issued alongside preorders for the record.

Narnia Release Second Single and Video From New Album “From Darkness to Light”

Today, Swedish metal band Narnia releases “You Are The Air That I Breathe” – the second single from the band’s upcoming studio-album; “From Darkness to Light.” The album is scheduled for release August 2nd, just over a month before touring begins in South America along with American bands Stryper and Tourniquet. Watch the video HERE.

Strange Music Official YouTube Channel Crosses 1 Billion Views & 2 Million Subscribers

Setting the pace for the culture from outside of the system yet again, independent powerhouse Strange Music celebrates another major milestone. The label’s official YouTube Channel, YouTube.com/StrangeMusicInc, crosses the 1-billion views mark, tallying 1.1 billion views and counting to date. Additionally, the subscribers surpass 2 million-plus. This affirms the company’s position as “the most successful independent rap record label in the industry.”

Label co-founder and multi-platinum rap star Tech N9ne shared this clip as a “Thank You.”

Billboard: SHAED – first group led solely by a woman ever to top Rock Airplay

“Trampoline” completes the third-longest trip to No. 1 in the Rock Airplay chart’s decade-long history, after Fitz and the Tantrums’ “Out of My League” (33 weeks, 2013) and Cold War Kids’ “First” (30 weeks, 2015).

British Columbia artist Kuri – Entitled ‘The Great Orator’

Though he may be a singer, multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, and producer, Kuri chiefly describes himself as “an observer.” His keen insight and sonic curiosity thread together an intriguing framework of carefully constructed and composed alternative on 2019’s debut album No Village [Nevado Music]. The foundation remains rooted in organic performances, classically infused orchestration, jazzy freeform spirit, cinematic ambition, and ultimately inspired observation. “I like to watch, analyze, and create systems in my brain,” he affirms. “As a solo artist, I enjoy the freedom to express exactly what I want by drawing on what I see.”

NY-based 80’s goth/dream pop/industrial band Reduction Plan announces ‘(Ae) Maeth’ LP, shares “The River” with Post-Punk.com; ‘(Ae) Maeth’ LP out 9/20/19 on Redscroll Records & Dune Altar

Reduction Plan’s music comes from within solitude’s frigid embrace. Pulling from 80s goth, industrial, dream-pop, as well as cacophonous no-wave, Reduction Plan uses both noise and space to illustrate the power of silence. Synth swells, hypnotic guitars, pulsing drum machines, and haunting murmurs form the foundation of the project’s sound.

Listen to Reduction Plan’s Scathing New Single “The River”

Vitriol Announce Debut Album ‘To Bathe From the Throat of Cowardice’ out September 6th

Death metal band VITRIOL announces debut album, To Bathe from the Throat of Cowardice, which is set for release on September 6th via Century Media Records. Featuring artwork by Joe Petagno (Motörhead, Krisiun, Angelcorpse), the album offers 44 minutes of the utmost sincere and vicious music embodying a radicalness and personality rarely heard within the genre.

“The spirit of VITRIOL is to take the uncompromising, thrashy, punky, spirit of the late 90s extreme death and bring it to a world that has been numbed by records that have abandoned all life in favor of shrink wrapped, candy coated articulation”, states VITRIOL vocalist and guitarist, Kyle Rasmussen.

Villagers shares brand new single “Summer’s Song”

Featuring a chorus of six flugelhorns, “Summer’s Song” was written and produced by Conor O’Brien and mixed by the legendary Dave Fridmann (Tame Impala, Flaming Lips, MGMT). In Conor’s words: “Summer’s Song is the closest I’ll ever get to writing a pure pop song. I just had to roll with it and I’m glad I did; it was really just an excuse to make the horns sound like sunbeams. Boy it’s fun to play live. I can’t quite believe we managed to get the magical touch of Dave Fridmann in on the mix”.

Forces & Fury make a searing return with dark new single, ‘Watch It Burn’

After making a solid impact with their debut single ‘Stormy Weather’, Sydney’s Forces & Fury return with another searing right hook punch, in new single ‘Watch It Burn’. Featuring Stellar Addiction vocalist Stacey Stellar, the song sees Forces & Fury (Kat Ayala and Astrid Holz) explore intense alternative-indie sounds, as the duo’s songwriting dynamic continues to flourish.

For Skope: Daffy Muffin’s “Selecta” – a nod to era of big-room house (out on Protocol)

Daffy Muffin is still a new project that debuted on June 12 with “Let It Buzz” on Hardwell’s Revealed Recordings. “Selecta” is Muffin’s second release ever and also a debut on Protocol.

Norwegian Grammy-winning septet The Switch release sophisti-pop track ‘What If’ + announcement of fifth full-length

From budding seeds to the overarching themes of this viridescent volume, the Norwegian Grammy-winning outfit hones something every-bit stylistically varied, surrealistically inclined and tactile, like a brightly plumaged exotic bird lost in the upper stretches of the northern hemisphere.