@skopemag news for april 2, 2019 @ 3:30 pm est

Trey Anastasio announces new album ‘Ghosts Of The Forest’

On the eve of a sold-out tour, Trey Anastasio has announced the release of an all-new LP, GHOSTS OF THE FOREST. The album’s title track can be heard now at all DSPs. On May 24, a 2x 180 gram vinyl release, foil numbered with limited edition rainbow foil packaging will be released. The album is available for pre-order now, and for digital download beginning Friday, April 12.

Trey Anastasio Opens Up About His New Mystery Band, Ghosts of the Forest


The Academy of Country Music® announced today that Luke Bryan, Old Dominion, Blake Shelton and Keith Urban have been added to the exciting lineup of live performances for the 54TH ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS™ and will be joined by a star-studded list of presenters including Lauren Alaina, Beth Behrs, Clint Black, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Jessie James Decker, Hunter Hayes, Jay Hernandez, Lady Antebellum, Midland, Nancy O’Dell, Danica Patrick, Carly Pearce, Dennis Quaid, Michael Ray, Cole Swindell, and Wilmer Valderrama. The awards telecast, hosted by Reba McEntire, will air LIVE from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 7, 2019 at 8:00 PM ET / delayed PT on the CBS Television Network.

ESSENCE OF DATUM Sign to Season of Mist

Season of Mist are proud to announce the signing of the instrumental progressive metal band, ESSENCE OF DATUM. The two piece from Belarus are currently working on the release of their third full-length record.

SPIRIT ADRIFT: “Tortured By Time” Single Playing At Gimme Radio Today

Arizona’s SPIRIT ADRIFT prepares to release their anxiously awaited third LP, Divided By Darkness, through 20 Buck Spin next month. Gimme Radio will include the new single, “Tortured By Time,” as part of a special episode which sees broadcast today, as the label has also issued preorders for the record on all formats.

Actor-Turned-Singer Rob Mayes Releases Debut Single “Closer”

Mayes commented about the release, stating “I am so excited to share this single with Country fans and radio programmers. ‘Closer’ is a song about having a crush and wanting more; wanting to have it realized and hoping the feeling is mutual. It’s about the exciting kind of emotions that make you feel alive and the electricity and anticipation that makes you smile.”


Following the release of their highly-anticipated official studio debut, I Want To Die In New Orleans via G59 Records / Caroline, a wildly successful and sold-out world tour, and having signed their long-time friend and collaborator GERM to their label, New Orleans rap duo $uicideboy$ have announced that they’re about to embark on a 22 date North American tour this Summer.

Bad Seed Announces New Duet Project: Introducing Nicole Atkins and Jim Sclavunos

“A Man Like Me” is the debut track from the vocal duo of Nicole Atkins and Jim Sclavunos, a preview from their upcoming as yet untitled duet album project.

Singer-songwriter SHANNON GARCIA releases debut single // in collab w/ Josiah Wolf

Singer/songwriter Shannon Garcia has teamed up with the drummer and vocalist of indie rock band Why?, Josiah Wolf for her musical debut “Spooky Action At A Distance”.

Ceschi & Factor Chandelier share innovative ‘Sad, Fat Luck’ LP

“It doesn’t feel strange to me to do an experimental folk song next to a choppy hip-hop track. It’s hard to explain all of that to a normal person on a plane. I usually just tell them that I sound like Ed Sheeran & nod. But if you’re reading this, you understand now.

Ceschi streams new album Sad, Fat Luck

SUNN O))) Prepares For US Tour

SUNN O))) has revealed a US listening session in addition to their events in London and Paris in the lead-up to the release of Life Metal, set for release April 26th through Southern Lord.

The FADER shares new video from Brazilian-American dream-pop act Winter

Today we’re announcing a new EP from LA’s Winter! We’ve teamed up with The FADER to share the first single & video, “Bonsai”, a technicolor whirlwind who’s setting is the perfect dreamscape for the song’s nostalgic summer energy. The video was directed by Ambar Navarro, who’s videos for Cuco, Soccer Mommy, Anna Burch, you’ve likely seen.

Winnipeg’s Alone I Walk Sign with Anchor Eighty-Four

Winnipeg’s Alone I Walk have signed with Anchor Eighty-Four and will release their debut EP this spring.

In the past year, the band has opened for PVRIS and Silverstein and will play shows later this month with Calling All Captains, Rarity and more.

Sayer Makes New Noise Debut With “Relentless”

Approaching dance music with a punk aesthetic, Oakland producer Sayer executes a rapture of sound on his “Relentless” New Noise debut. Infusing waves of techno and unexpected twists, Sayer’s technical finesse speaks volumes, transporting listeners to another dimension.

GYGAX: Fantasy Metal Warriors Announce West Coast Tour With Pounder

Ventura, California fantasy metal warriors GYGAX – currently uniting former and current members of Gypsyhawk, Skeletonwitch, Annihilation Time, Huntress, Sorcerer, and more – have announced a run of West Coast tour dates for this May with fellow Californians, the ale assassins in Pounder. The news comes as the band is currently recording their upcoming third LP for release later in the year.

GYGAX w/ Pounder:
5/09/2019 Star Theater – Portland, OR
5/10/2019 Highline – Seattle, WA
5/11/2019 The Haul – Grant’s Pass, OR
5/12/2019 Elbo Room Jack London – Oakland, CA
5/16/2019 Blue Lamp – Sacramento, CA
5/17/2019 Tower Bar – San Diego, CA
5/18/2019 Five Star Bar – Los Angeles, CA


The Lemonheads North American tour begins May 2nd, with special guest support from Tommy Stinson along for the ride. The new album,’Varshons 2′, is available through Fire Records.

Since they were formed in Boston, Mass, in 1986 by Evan Dando, the family tree of The Lemonheads has many twisted tentacles and tangential branches, and a host of one-liners etched into its bark. Anyone could be a Lemonhead, but for how long and who knows? Leastways, they’ll be shoulder-to-shoulder with Evan throwing discordant chords against alt-country-tinged melodies, playing that light and dark card. Through their ranks passed Descendents, Blake Babies, Dinosaur Jr and members of Fuzzy.