@skopemag News For November 7, 2018 @ 3 pm est

Ambrosia Parsley + Holly Miranda Release New Video, “It Won’t Be Me,” Out Now

Following chart-topping success across Europe at the dawn of the new millennium, Ambrosia Parsley determinedly brought avant-pop band Shivaree back into obscurity.

Now she’s back with a bit of vampire heartbreak, a pair of 40 cent fangs and a bottle of tequila in a video shot and directed by Christian Huguenot. “It Won’t Be Me”, written with pals Holly Miranda and Mickey Petralia will hurt you, but you might just like it and “Let a Wolf” written with Chris Maxwell is a romp through a dark and scary wood.

OHHMS premiere new album “Exist” in full via Metal Hammer!

Britain’s groundbreaking sludge/post-metal unit OHHMS are unveiling their forthcoming second album “Exist” in full today via Metal Hammer’s website. More than a gut-gripping sonic piece, “Exist” is a powerful statement about Animal Rights and pacifism. Check it out in full below!

SWIZZ BEATZ Releases New Music Video For “SWIZZMONTANA”!!


With his official return and the release of his “Excuse Me,” Ro James is fortifying his place in music with soulful grit and impassioned vocals, all while continuing to share his journey along the way.

The Gibson Brothers Debut New Album, Mockingbird, Via Relix

This Friday, November 9th, Bluegrass royalty Leigh and Eric Gibson will release Mockingbird, their 14th studio album, and it is now streaming in its entirety via Relix. Relix says that with the album, The Gibson Brothers affirm their “expansive tastes and intents, via 10 crackling originals and a cover of R.E.M.’s ‘Everybody Hurts.’ The results encompass country, soul and Laurel Canyon folk-rock.” Listen to Mockingbird, before its release, here via Relix.

Shoji’s new single ‘Bliss’ delivers electronic flourishes & indie songwriting

Shoji are an electronic duo that combine ethereal textures with calming beats. Composed of Josh Oliver and Alex Arcoleo, this pair met at school, although it wasnʼt until a few years later that they started writing music together. Shoji was later formed in the summer of 2017, when they released their debut single ‘To The Startʼ, which received glowing reviews from blogs including HillyDilly, Kick Kick Snare and La Belle Musique.

HERMITUDE Return With “Stupid World feat. Bibi Bourelly”; Watch Video       

Hermitude are back with a new song featuring the formidable Bibi Bourelly. “Stupid World” heralds truth, bravery and trust in yourself. The accompanying music video, directed by Spencer Hord and featuring dancer Marcus Braggs, beautifully portrays that sentiment. The video premiered via High Snobiety yesterday.


Rising electronic producer/recording artist Melvv has teamed up with L.A.-based pop duo, More Giraffes for the sizzling new collab, “Heatwave.” Featuring Melvv’s signature bouncy production and the dreamy vocals of More Giraffes, “Heatwave” is accompanied by an equally stunning companion visual directed by Melvv himself. “Heatwave” is available everywhere now via Atlantic Records.


The highly anticipated collaboration between Miami-based rising star Eche Palante and lauded songstress Mingue, “Passengers of the Night,” now has an official lyric video. Fans can sing along to the track’s hauntingly beautiful lyrics while watching a lonely car speed off along a never-ending road. Above the blue car, the night sky shifts with unexpected surprises for the viewer – a full moon ascends into view, followed by a burst of fireworks, followed by an aurora borealis. As the night sky reveals its wonders, so too does the song shed light on the spirits of those who come alive under the cover of night.

Gengahr Share Video For “Atlas Please” || Out Now On Transgressive Records

Today Gengahr have shared the cinematic visuals for new stand-alone single “Atlas Please”, out now via Transgressive Records. Produced by Jack Steadman (Bombay Bicycle Club, Mr Jukes), “Atlas Please” is the first collaborative effort between the two and stands as one of the band’s most accomplished pieces of work to date. The song marries swirling lo-fi instrumentation and production with shimmering pop idealism giving an intriguing new direction to their illuminating, forward thinking indie rock. Watch the video HERE.

GNAW: PopMatters Premieres “Prowled Mary” Video

New York City avant-metal extremists GNAW present a new video for “Prowled Mary,” one of the most harrowing tracks on their Cutting Pieces LP, which was released last year through Translation Loss Records. The video sees its public premiere through PopMatters as the band prepares for new live assaults later this month.

SIIMBA LIIVES LONG Releases New Single “DON’T MIIND,” Out Everywhere Now

With the final weeks of 2018 coming to a close, Ethopian-American rapper SIIMBA LIIVES LONG is ending the year with a series of singles including last month’s critically acclaimed release “BAD FOR THE SOUL” featuring KAMAU. Reflecting on a year that included new track releases, two music videos- “HOOKED” and the cypher style video for “BAD FOR THE SOUL-,” and a series of live performances including a jaw-dropping hook suspension stunt at Treble FM’s one-year anniversary show, SIIMBA is now ready to wrap up one of the most pivotal years in his career to date. Today, the Brooklyn-based artist is ready to reveal one of his last singles of 2018 titled “DON’T MIIND.”

Sophie Meiers shares new 3-song project Chrysalis via Complex, plus video & digital zine

Today Sophie Meiers shares the new three-song project Chrysalis, along with a new video and a digital zine, all premiered via COMPLEX.

New Release : The Legal Immigrants

“Hang On” is a jaunting kick in the ass. If there’s one thing that the single won’t do, it’s let you feel sorry for yourself. As a rioting act of rebellion against complacency, it shakes the ground and roars under dragging feet, thrusting them towards the dawn of a new day. new year, and a new future. Smooth vocals round out the jagged edges and swelter with charisma as the lyrics capture a message of determination to give the last months of the year one final push. Snapping blues guitar riffs chug forward in motion as metallic tambourine rattles below the belly of the well-oiled machine.

SOMETIME SONNY introduces his debut album THANKS A MILLION

After impressing industry and fans alike with the evocative ‘Have A Heart’ single earlier in 2018, Brisbane songwriter Sometime Sonny has returned with another melodic whopper of a tune in ‘Surgeons’! A natural storyteller, Sometime Sonny (moniker of artist Dave Campbell) has again worked his magic in weaving personal experience through a dreamy blend of indie-rock and added electronic elements.