The history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup

The FIFA Women’s World Cup, a premier international football tournament, has a rich history that spans over several decades. The portal provides sports betting in Kenya, and it also features this competition too.

The inaugural tournament took place in 1991, marking a significant milestone in the recognition and development of women’s football on a global stage.

The 1991 Women’s World Cup, held in China, featured 12 teams and showcased the growing talent and passion for women’s football. The 1xBet Kenya website provides sports betting in all editions of the FIFA World Cup too. The United States emerged as the inaugural champions, defeating Norway 2-1 in the final. This victory laid the foundation for the growth of women’s football in the United States and around the world.

A highly successful competition

Subsequent tournaments continued to raise the profile of the Women’s World Cup. That’s another reason to visit 1xBet – try betting on the line on this competition and everything else that this platform can offer.

In 1995, the tournament expanded to 16 teams, and Norway clinched its first title. The United States reclaimed the championship in 1999, in a memorable tournament marked by Brandi Chastain’s iconic celebration. It is a great idea to try betting on the 1xBet line on the team from the United States too.

The early 2000s saw increased competitiveness, with Germany winning back-to-back titles in 2003 and 2007. The tournament expanded to 24 teams in 2015, with the United States winning its third title, establishing itself as a dominant force in women’s football.

A highly successful competition

The Women’s World Cup has not only showcased remarkable athletic prowess but also been a platform for advocating gender equality and empowerment. Live wagers on other exciting tournaments can be made at the website too. By the way, the teams that have claimed the trophy during its history include:

  • the United States;
  • Norway;
  • Germany;
  • and Japan.

The 2011 tournament in Germany was a turning point, as Japan triumphed amidst the devastation caused by the earthquake and tsunami. This inspired a nation and symbolized the resilience of the human spirit.

2015 and 2019 were landmark years, as the Women’s World Cup gained unprecedented attention. The 2015 edition in Canada saw the United States secure their third title, while the 2019 tournament in France set new records for viewership and engagement. The United States once again emerged victorious, capturing their fourth title and further elevating the status of women’s football. The 1xBet website features great wagers on other female national football teams too.


BCLB №: 0000348


T@C apply

Play responsibly