@skopemag news for august 5, 2019 @ 9 am est

@skopemag APP – Apple iTunes –

@skopemag APP – Google / Android –

Frankie Swain releases emotive new video for Emergency Alarms

Frankie Swain has today released the emotive video for her new single Emergency Alarms.

Directed by Alan Dunne and produced by Stubborn Monkey Media, Emergency Alarms reflects on how important it is to reach out to friends in time of need. “It’s so important today that we reach out to friends and family or even sometimes strangers to make sure we mind both ourselves and each other. Never forget what you mean to others as sometimes this can be your saviour. We have all been in the same place at some stage, so trust in others, you are never alone – make sure to reach out for the helping hand of friendship.”

THE QUIREBOYS Release Video For New Single ‘Original Black Eyed Son’

Lyrics for “Original Black Eyed Son”
“Well I heard it only yesterday, when my eyes hit the morning sun.
Woke up in an alleyway, I missed a day then a year had gone, and I feel like I lost my mind
Thought I was having such a real good time, I vaguely remember the stars in December but never seen the sun shine.
Now I’m feeling yeah I’m feeling like the prodigal one, yeah I’m feeling – oh yeah the original black eyed son…
Woke up in a hot sweat in another state in another town, seems just like the same shit, but that ain’t never gonna wear me down.
Is there more to life then tell me than being a singer in a rock’n’roll band – is there more to life then hotel dives and staying up till morning again
How does it feel, prodigal one how does it feel black eyed son
Well I’m still on that rolling train, that’s coming round the same track again, all this reckless behaviour is never gonna save ya it’s driving ya all insane …”

JASON WINSTON Releases ‘Yarra’ Single

Originally from Melbourne, singer-songwriter, Jason Winston is releasing his second single, Yarra. Inspired by the likes of Frank Ocean, Sza, Troye Sivan, Drake and James Blake he makes music that fuses dance, pop and contemporary R’n’B with a taste for lyrical authenticity.

Yarra unpacks the complicated beginnings of a relationship. ‘…after a couple of months of seeing each other we hadn’t got to spend a night with each other yet. This song reflects on that night in Melbourne. I wrote it a couple of months after the fact when I found myself overwhelmed with the dynamics of the relationship. I wanted to capture the limitless nature of my connection with this man.’


Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds will release This Is The Place, a brand new EP of music on September 27th. The title track from the EP is available now.

The five track EP features three brand new songs as well as two remixes, track-listing below:

1. This Is The Place
2. A Dream Is All I Need To Get By
3. Evil Flower
4. This Is The Place (Dense & Pika Remix)
5. Evil Flower (The Reflex Revision)

Ohmwork to release new track before album hits the stores 13 Sept!

Ohmwork are back with a fierce track titled ‘Sleep Killing’ coming out 16 Aug! A spooky tale of what could happen to anyone of us in their sleep.. The music is heavy with great riffing and thunderous drumming! This is another step up the metal latter from the great power trio from Norway.

Ohmwork release their fourth album HorrorWorks on Friday the 13th of September. A concept album consisting of eight horror stories. You have maybe heard of Amityville, Typhiod Mary or the serial killer known as the ‘Phantom Killer’? Dig in and find out more!


Award-winning singer Amy Vee is celebrating the release of Same Skin – her sophomore album – with a six-date tour of the East Coast. Same Skin has been described as ‘a seductive and sumptuous exploration of both the ever-changing and constant elements of the soul,’ and promises to be just as seductive and sumptuous live on stage.

Wednesday 9 October – Memo Music Hall, St. Kilda – VIC
Sunday 13 October – Smith’s Alternative (solo), Canberra – ACT
Friday 18 October – The Newsagency, Annandale – NSW
Sunday 20 October – Royal Exchange Theatre, Newcastle – NSW
Friday 1 November – Dusty Attic Music Lounge, Lismore – NSW
Saturday 2 November – The Junk Bar (solo), Ashgrove – QLD


Lovable indie rockers Mylk have today announced the release of their fun new single Not My Fault, a hooky track about being a bit of a bad luck magnet, set for release on August 8. The group have also released a fittingly entertaining and super endearing clip for Not My Fault; it’s a one-shot-wonder bursting with youth and personality. And they’ll be celebrating the release with an exclusive hometown show at the Grace Darling Hotel in Melbourne on August 23.

LIFETIME SHITLIST ‘Bad Blood’ LP Out Aug. 16th

LIFETIME SHITLIST’s rallying cry from the start has been ‘keep it simple and keep it dirty.’ Formed in beautiful, aromatic, downtown Baltimore in 2012, steeped in tradition with an alchemic meld of hardcore and doom metal infused by guitarist Matt Crocco (Iron Boss, Rancid Decay), vocalist and bassist Ned Westrick (Indictments, Ironchrist), guitarist Corey Fleming, and drummer Ryan Larkin.

Arriving on August 16th from Grimoire Records, ‘BAD BLOOD’ is the fourth recorded outing from LIFETIME SHITLIST. Set for release nearly two years to the day since their well-received 2017 full-length ‘Slow March’, the forthcoming ‘BAD BLOOD’ is eight songs of wonderfully brutal, unyielding reality from an intensely broad-minded band. More heaviness, more speed, more filth.


‘Hate How Much I Love You’ proved to be a fitting return for one of the UK’s biggest pop success stories. It immediately became a Trending video at You Tube and Radio 1 highlighted it one of their Best New Pop tracks as it raced to 7 million streams within a month. And with strong ticket sales for his upcoming European tour, it’s clear that an exciting new era in Conor’s career is underway. With 5 Top 10 singles, a #1 album, 10 million monthly listeners and 2 billion streams, there’s still plenty more to come.

Granfalloon have a new single out called ‘The Elephant’

Have you ever felt utterly overwhelmed? The new Granfalloon single The Elephant is about that very feeling and is out now – the track comes from their forthcoming second album RGB, which will be released in September 2019 on 12″ vinyl and all streaming platforms. The song debuted on BBC Introducing. The band just performed at Bluedot Festival last month and will be touring the album across the UK this September.

The title phrase of The Elephant is a mother’s advice. It also belies Granfalloon’s pan-European makeup, featuring the German lyrics “Man kann sich nicht jeden Schuh anziehen/Wer über Wasser geht, der muss Barfuß gehn” which translates as “You cannot wear all of the shoes/Who wants to walk on water must do so barefoot”.