When it comes to driving in Kentucky, many of the driving laws here are the same as they are throughout most other states. To enjoy all the beauty and scenery that the Bluegrass State has to offer, though, you’ll want to have the as well as give yourself a refresher on the driving laws that are most likely to impact you.
If you happen to get caught violating a traffic law, you should take advantage of a . Not only can this possibly help you save money on fees and fines, but it can also keep the violation off your driving record, which is crucial for keeping your insurance premiums as low as possible. For now, let’s take a quick look at 5 KY driving tools and pieces of advice for following driving laws in the great state of Kentucky.
1) There Are Certain Requirements All Drivers Must Meet
Before you hit the open road in Kentucky, it is pertinent that you make sure you are legally allowed to drive in the state. Just because you have a legal driver’s license issued by your home state does not necessarily mean it is valid in Kentucky; this especially rings true for teenagers. If you are a teenager and want to drive in Kentucky, you must:
Be 16-years-old or older
Have a licensed driver in the vehicle with you always who is at least 21-years-old
Not drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 6 a.m.
2) Digital Copy of Your Insurance Card Is Sufficient
Most of us have been guilty of forgetting to keep an updated copy of your auto insurance card nearby. Thankfully, when driving in Kentucky, there is no need to fret because digital copies of your card are sufficient during a traffic stop! There are several ways to make sure you have a digital copy of your insurance card on hand:
Download a copy from your insurance carrier’s mobile app
Send a PDF copy of the card to your mobile
Taking a picture of your actual card and store it in your phone
3) You Can Talk on a Phone While Driving
Some states don’t allow you to talk on a cell phone and drive at the same time; this doesn’t apply when driving in Kentucky. There is an exception, though, that applies to drivers under the age of 18. If you are under the age of 18, it is against the law to talk on the phone and drive at the same time, regardless of whether you are using a hands-free or handheld cellular method of conversating. As far as texting goes, absolutely nobody can text and drive at the same time, and it is also against the law to read a text message while behind the wheel.
4) You Must Maintain Proper Insurance Always
To drive a vehicle in the state of Kentucky, you must have proper insurance. This means if your home state doesn’t require you to have insurance, you will at least need to purchase a policy for the period in which you are driving in the state of Kentucky. Minimum insurance requirements in the state are as follows:
$25,000/$50,000 for bodily coverage
$10,000 for property damage
If you get caught driving in the state of Kentucky without insurance, you may find yourself having to shell out a large amount of money for fines and fees.
5) The Deer Are Everywhere
Deer are a huge problem for drivers in Kentucky. In fact, Kentucky ranks number 15 on the list of most deer collisions in the United States. Crashes involving deer can happen any time during the day or night, but they are more likely to take place on cooler nights when the deer on the move. If you’re driving through Kentucky, especially during deer season, you’ll want to use extra caution.