Outlaw Country and Southern Rock outfit Whiskey Myers is releasing their raw but righteous sophomore album, titled Firewater, on April 26.

Led by vocalist Cody Cannon and the twin guitars of John Jeffers and Cody Tate, Whiskey Myers has emerged as one of the Lone Star State’s hottest musical exports with their 2011 effort.   Produced by ex-Shooter Jennings guitarist and songwriter Leroy Powell, Firewater is distinctly Southern Rock-oriented, yet inventive enough to incorporate the band’s heart-on-their-sleeve Country and Blues influences.

The Tyler, Texas-based group, rounded out by bassist Gary Brown and drummer Jeff Hogg, wrote nine of Firewater’s 12 tracks, with producer Powell contributing three songs.   The resulting album pieces together a compelling narrative of the band’s small town roots and the realities of life on the road for an up-and-coming band.


Leave a Reply