A.A. Bondy’s sophomore album, When The Devil’s Loose, will be released September 1, 2009 on Fat Possum.

Recorded primarily in Water Valley, MS in April and May, When The Devil’s Loose expands upon the stripped-down and haunting sound of his debut album, American Hearts.   A full band now accompanies him on most tracks, lending a full, roomy sound to 10 songs of bluesy Americana carried along by Bondy’s lived-in voice. When The Devil’s Loose sounds almost from another era, whether it’s a quiet, spooky twang (“Oh The Vampyre”), lullaby-like (“On The Moon”), inflected with old-time R&B (“To The Morning”), or colored with traces of ’60s pop (the buoyant “I Can See The Pines Are Dancing” and the melancholy, ethereal cadence of “When The Devil’s Loose”). Track listing for When The Devil’s Loose is as follows:

1.       When The Devil’s Loose
2.       Mightiest Of Guns
3.       A Slow Parade
4.       To The Morning
5.       Oh The Vampyre
6.       I Can See The Pines Are Dancing
7.       False River
8.       On The Moon
9.       The Mercy Wheel
10.   The Coal Hits The Fire

Leave a Reply