matthew-sweet_phixr.jpgOn August 26, Matthew Sweet will release his 10th studio album, Sunshine Lies, in a new alliance with Shout! Factory.

Fans who have eagerly awaited the album’s arrival (and have been tracking its progress under the working title Rock Bottom) will not be disappointed.

The album will also be released as a 2 LP set including four previously unreleased bonus tracks not available on the CD. For customer convenience, a CD will be included with purchases of the LP. The album features beautiful original photography by Brian Valentine.

Matthew Sweet Audio Streams:



Video Stream Link:


QuickTime Files:


By turns achingly melodic and startlingly visceral, Sunshine Lies swirls with poetic emotion and stark attitude, bringing neatly into play the entire gamut of Sweet’s stylistic experience. Flowing with masterful ease, Sweet’s uniquely personal songwriting never fails to delight, and he has described the album as “very direct, but seen through the eyes of nature, or rather modeled on its beauty, chaos and freedom, something like a stab at sonic art nouveau.”

Sunshine Lies was recorded at Lolina Green Studios in Los Angeles, CA, and produced and mixed by Matthew Sweet. Susanna Hoffs appears on the album, providing backup vocals on the title track. While familiars Ric Menck (drums), Ivan Julian (guitar), Greg Leisz (guitar/pedal steel guitar) and Richard Lloyd (guitar) are all here as well, Sweet let chance lead the way during the recording. He managed to teleport his songs into a surprisingly more abstract and psychedelic space, finding a “sure and natural realm in words, melody and performance, like a carousel mindflower.” Indeed. The vibrant Sunshine Lies will certainly revolve in your mind long after each listening.

Born in Lincoln, Nebraska, Sweet was part of the developing music scene in Athens, Georgia in the 1980s. Sweet came to fame in 1991 with his Top Five Modern Rock hit “Girlfriend,” off his certified gold album of the same name, followed by the critically acclaimed albums Altered Beast and the platinum follow up 100% Fun. After releasing a number of other excellent solo albums, Sweet formed The Thorns with fellow singer-songwriters Shawn Mullins and Pete Droge, and they released one self-titled album to positive reviews. Sweet then returned to his solo efforts, releasing Living Things and Kimi Ga Suki. In 2006 Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs collaborated on the Shout! Factory release Under The Covers Vol. 1, featuring 15 of the duo’s favorite pop tunes from the 1960s.

Tour Dates:

8/25 Solana Beach, CA — The Belly Up
8/26 Los Angeles, CA – Amoeba in-store
8/27 San Capistrano, CA — The Coach House  
8/28 Silver Lake, CA — The Echo
10/20 Boulder, CO — Fox Theatre
10/22 Minneapolis, MN — First Avenue
10/23 Chicago, IL — Park West
10/24 Pittsburgh, PA — Mr. Smalls
10/25 Cleveland, OH – Beachland
10/27 Boston, MA — Paradise
10/28 NY, NY — Webster Hall
10/29 Falls Church, VA — State Theatre
10/30 Atlanta, GA — Variety

Leave a Reply