STEPHEN MARLEY ANNOUNCES SPRING U.S. TOUR

stephen.jpgStephen Marley, Multiple-Grammy winning artist/producer (he holds the Reggae record with six Grammy wins), and fresh off his latest Grammy win for Best Reggae Album for his 2007 masterpiece Mind Control, has begun a much anticipated spring U.S. Tour.

 The tour  will take him to 29 cities, and include a handful of celebrated Festivals including his spring 19;08 finale performance on June 13 at the much heralded Bonnaroo Festival, the 4 day multi-stage music and cultural extravaganza held on a 700 acre farm in Manchester, Tennessee.

Marley, who became the third son in a row from the great Marley musical dynasty to win the Best Reggae Album Grammy, will headline the non-festival shows, tapping Kingston Reggae sensation Gully Bank Sound to open on the tour. The trek kicked off on May 4 in West Palm Beach at the Sun Fest, and includes shows in North Myrtle Beach on May 8, Las Vegas 19; Hard Rock & Casino on May 23, and Boulder, CO on June 7 at the prestigious Fox Theatre (see entire list of dates below).

Considered one of the most versatile studio and live Reggae performers, Stephen 19;s debut solo release, Mind Control (Tuff Gong/ Ghetto Youths/Universal-Republic), landed at #1 of the coveted Billboard Reggae Chart, and in the upper tier of the Billboard Top 40 Album Chart, as well. Critics raved about the groundbreaking album, with People Magazine calling it a “masterful fusion of reggae and hip hop,'” Entertainment Weekly seconded that notion, calling Mind Control the best Marley album in a generation.

In 2006, Stephen snagged his fifth Grammy award for his triumphant co-production work on brother Damian “Jr.Gong” Marley’s acclaimed RIAA certified Gold disc Welcome To Jamrock, making him the most honored Grammy winner of the Marley family, as well as netting him the most Grammy wins of any other Reggae artist in history.

Tue, May 6 Atlanta, GA Center Stage
Thurs, May 8 North Myrtle Beach, SC House of Blues
Fri, May 9 Jacksonville Beach,FL Freebird Live
Sat, May 10 Saint Petersburg, FL Jammus Landing
Sun, May 11 Orlando, FL City Walk at Universal Studios (outdoors)
Tues, May 13 Charleston, SC The Music Farm
Thurs, May 15 Athens, GA Georgia Theatre
Fri, May 16 New Orleans, LA House of Blues
Sat, May 17 Dallas, TX House of Blues
Sun, May 18 Mexico City Extremo Corona Festival
Tues, May 20 Albuquerque, NM Sunshine Theatre
Thurs, May 22 Alpine, CA DreamCatcher
Fri, May 23 Las Vegas Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Sat, May 24 Avila Beach, CA Avila Beach Resort
Mon, May 26 Los Angeles, CA UCLA Intramural Field
Wed, May 28 San Francisco, CA The Independent
Thurs, May 29 Arcata, CA Arcata Community Center
Fri, May 30 Portland, OR Roseland Theater
Sat, May 31 Seattle, WA Showbox at the Market
Mon, June 2 Spokane, WA The Big Easy Concert House
Tues, June 3 Boise, ID The Big Easy Concert House
Wed, June 4 Euguene, OR Cuthbert Amphitheatre
Fri, June 6 Snowmass Village Snowmass Village Chili Pepper & Brewers
Sat, June 7 Boulder, CO Fox Theatre
Sun, June 8 Bellvue, CO Mishawaka Amphitheatre
Tues, June 10 Minneapolis, MN First Avenue
Wed, June 11 Madison, WI Barrymore Theatre
Fri, June 13 Manchester, TN Bonnarooo Music Festival

Leave a Reply